You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why it's Not the Boys in the Above Picture Who Grow Up to be School Shooters

in #masculinity6 years ago

Hmm, this argument assumes that all of these boys are heterosexual. Which may or may not be the case. In my experience, the boys below have no trouble getting attention from girls. How many mass shooters have been masters of applying makeup?

White supremacist beliefs, feeling entitled to sex, and history of domestic violence seem to be better predictors of the likeliness to become a mass-shooter. Sounds a lot like toxic masculinity to me. But I know you don’t believe that exists.

Do you think proper gun training for the incels who are not masculine enough in your opinion would have prevented these shootings? Do you really think the makeup boys are potential school shooters?

Sort:  

You're taking the pictures too literally. Actual appliance of makeup obviously has nothing to do with anything. And neither does gun training.

I'm not sure where the white supremacist thing comes from, I have not seen a connection between white supremacist beliefs and mass shootings myself, but you can link to something if you want to.

A feeling of entitlement to sex, however, seems to correlate with these shootings, that's where you're right.

Obviously enough, no one is entitled to sex.

But that feeling of entitlement then explodes into terrible acts of violence as the men fail to get a date, proving my point.

You can't force women to sleep with these men, but you can point them in a direction that changes them into men that can actually get some action happening.

The domestic violence thing you pulled out of your ass since these men tend to be desperately single, meaning no domestic violence can ever occur.

I’m not looking up links. You’re free of course to write it off as bullshit.

I have a sincere question though. Do you think hormone therapy would help? Like instead of anti-depressants or other psychiatric drugs, check the testosterone levels in depressed men/boys?

That's not my field, but I have read people reporting positive results after undergoing testosterone therapy. They've been happier, more balanced, more active.

Well, more like men, honestly.

There are theories flying around that the chemicals in our environment in the west actually fuck up our hormones. I can't say yes or no to this since, again, this isn't my field.

But male fish that have been found in waters contaminated by birth control pill leftovers have actually turned female.

That’s interesting and scary about the fish, but not surprising. I’m going to look that up.

Thanks for responding to a difference of opinion 🙃

Of course. I don't mind differing opinions at all. There was nothing in your comment that was an attack or something stupid, so of course I responded.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91