You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding the Perfect Masternode Coin

in #masternode6 years ago

@cocryptominer great series. I am still not sure about tiered masternodes. I can not say I have taken time to understand them but the very nature of masternodes to me is already tiered as the payments come on different days, frequencies and amounts for each node. I am still trying to understand a good reason for a class system within the nodes. my node is bigger than yours

Sort:  

Thanks for the upvote! The only practical reason I can think of is saving cost on hosting. If you wanted to invest 10000 Coins into a project and their masternodes were only 5000 Coins each, you would need to deploy 2 VPS servers. If they offerest a 5000 Coin MN and a 10000 Coin MN, then you could still invest 10000 Coins, but only deploy 1 VPS.

@cocryptominer That makes sense. So do the nodes with more coins get paid more?

Yes, exactly. In the tiered MN Coin, the probability of getting a reward for a 10000 Coin MN is twice as good as a 5000 Coin MN.

Interesting! Thanks for that. I will view them differently. From the technical point of the node is it not a disadvantage to the network having fewer nodes? because people will be thinking of their financial benefits of getting 2 for 1.
2 nodes of 5000 each is doing more for the network than 1 node of 10000 (its just one point of connection no matter how many coins are secured to it.)
Thanks for clearing up this point. I always used to skip when I see tiered now I read a little deeper to see how each project implements it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84