MSM-24 Lessons in Dignity 1

in #mcgannon5 years ago

Has everyone seen this lessons in raw dignity in this woman facing soul-crushing humiliation, living under a bridge?
dignity.png
I remember vividly back in University days in Sociology class, I had decided, inspired by the intellectual curiosity of John Howard Griffin in his 1959 seminal work, Black Like Me, to live as a homeless person in Boston for 24 hours. Thinking myself of the Griffin ilk, I would devise a project and report on it in sociology class.

Thinking myself clever, I would bravely describe to mates how, after being dropped off at the main train station, I would set out find a way to ask for money, find food, water and shelter, where to sleep, to avoid police and drug addicts, other homeless, do some clandestine interviews, and, above all, stay under cover and NOT be discovered as the fake that I was.

The project required at least some research, which, in short order, discouraged me from doing it. Way too hard and dangerous! I found another easier project, got my B+, graduated, career, funerals, births, weddings, arguments about money, kid and infinite distractions later. Repeat many times over 4 decades and here we are, when I recently stumbled upon this YT video on the Invisible People channel. Should support them.

Blew me away to know that so many people are in the streets. OK, I blew the opportunity to to write a 1975 version of Griffin's work, Homeless Like Me. I was especially moved by her 3 wishes:

  1. "I would wish for the strength to continue fighting";

  2. "I would wish that others could get out of this";

  3. "I would wish for Understanding and Compassion for everyone."


Madam Manda, you have SO much to offer our rudderless society; you should brush up and become a Professor of Philosophy to leverage your knowledge (Positivity 1.01) or, at least, start a STEEMIT channel! Stay tuned!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63