Low Cost Veggie Centered Meal Prep

in #mealprep6 years ago

Relatively Cheap +Vegan = AWESOME 😍

Even better that it is healthy and packed with nutrients.

My lunch meal prep for the week!
Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Broccoli with a Sweet Potato/Mushroom/ Swiss Chard/ Black Bean Hash (of sorts)

Long name, yummy results!

I went to the store right after the gym, with no list or any sort of plan whatsoever. Came back to my house this week after two full weeks at my parents house for the holidays. New years resolutions aside, I needed to input some serious veggies into my life (the two day drive back to my house was full of fast food and takeout) to cleanse my system.

When I walked into Whole Foods, I just walked around the produce section and picked out random veggies! Didn't actually make a plan on what to make until I got home. Everyone says eating a vegan diet is expensive, but getting vegetables on sale and keeping food simple. Vegan gets expensive only when you try to buy a whole bunch of replacement foods, fake meats/ cheeses etc.

I got most of the ingredients at my local whole Foods, but I got a few things at Kroger. (I accidentally threw out my receipt so this is a guesstimate of the prices!)

Brussels Sprouts- $3.99
Rainbow Chard - $3.00
Head of Broccoli - $1.99
Frozen Bag of Mushrooms (used only half) - $2.00
Sweet Potatoes - $5.00

Can of Black Beans (No Salt added) - $0.59

Total: $16.57 of about 4.14 per meal

Roasted the sweet potatoes in my oven while I cleaned out the bunny cage, then threw the brussels sprouts and broccoli in the oven to roast. When I cooked them I coated them lightly in olive oil and lemon pepper seasoning.
IMG_0059.jpeg

After all of my veggies were roasted, I chopped the rainbow chard and sautéed them with half a bag of frozen mushrooms. I added the drained can of no salt added black beans, I mixed them into the sauté pan and seasoned them with cajun seasoning for a little pizzaz.

Ended up making 4 lunches (or breakfasts if you're into that sort of thing) with a whole sweet potato left over!

IMG_0060-1.jpeg

Not the best looking meal, and I forgot to take a bunch of pictures but having almost a weeks worth of lunches for under $5 each.

Super tasty! Super easy!
Hope y'all like it :)

Sort:  

Cool @veganbunnylover thank you for sharing

Thanks for looking at it!

"Relatively Cheap +Vegan = AWESOME 😍"

relatively cheap + vegan = way of life imo :p

I always think about prepping meals but never feel like today is the day to start lol. Thanks for the motivation and ideas!

I am hoping to continue meal prepping on a budget, so hopefully I can keep inspiring you! Thanks for checking out my post!

I'll keep looking! Get more vegans here if you know any and I'll follow them all :p

If you’re a bunny lover and I’m a rabbit then we must be a match made in heaven! Great idea. And cheap!!

looks so yummy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75