Poke Holes and Plug Them: Part 3

in #medical6 years ago (edited)

Vehicle Medium Trauma Kit: Part 2. This is the 3rd post in a 4 part series. To see my other posts, click here (https://steemit.com/medical/@loganhommel/poke-holes-and-plug-them-part-2).

pjimage.jpg

This kit was designed to ride behind the back seat of my tuck. I chose this bag because to the compartments in the front, the side panels and the easy rip open dual zipper design for the back. The designation patch is luminescent, there is a green solid/strobe marker on the side of the bag as well as a large chemlight. I find that when looking over other people's kits, the one thing they're always lacking is light sources. I like to have multiples as a redundancy, whether it's for seeing or marking a location for someone to spot easier. After all, it's dark roughly 12 hours per day...might as well embrace it!

The bag I chose to go with is the SOTECH Radio/Communications bag. They're somewhat available, and you can probably find one on eBay for a decent price.
20180304_134916.jpg

From top to bottom:

  1. Bandage and Compressed Gauze, TQ, Phokus Trauma Shield kit
  2. Compressed Gauze, Hydrogen Peroxide, Wound Seal and Iodine Flush
  3. LED Head Lamp, Bandage and Compressed Gauze and a Pulse Oximeter

20180304_135115.jpg

Working our way to the inside of the bag, you'll see that's it's fairly full. It still has room for more items, but mainly smaller stuff.

20180304_135321.jpg

Right, now for the fun stuff. Again, left to right, top to bottom:

  1. Stethoscope, Pen, Chemlight, CPR Pocket Resuscitator
  2. Celox, Thermometer, Ear Plugs, BC Powder (NSAID), Surgical Sutures, Bee Sting Swabs, Bacitracin (excellent to have), Steri-Strips
  3. Vaseline Gauze (burns), Covidien Tefla, NAR Emergency Trauma Dressing, 4x Bandage Wrap, 2x Med Tape.
    4.Saline Flush Kit (Saline, Syringe, Starter Needle)
  4. 2x TQ, 2x Bandages
  5. Combat Gauze, 2x Chest Seals, 2x Island Dressings
  6. Kerlix Non Sterile Gauze (sterile gauze is not required 100% of the time)
  7. TQ
  8. 2x SAM Splints, 8 pairs of Nitrile Gloves (DO NOT USE LATEX)

Whew....ok. The reason I said sterile gauze is not always required, is because it isnt. In the case that you DID have to use non sterile gauze in a life threatening situation, I don't think you're really going to care if it's sterile or not, and if you do....well you won't have to care very long.

20180304_135554.jpg

Some things you can do to help keep organized would be to label your bags.. I use thick bags that I can get from where I work, they work well and don't tear easily.

20180304_135755.jpg

Hopefully you find this information helpful either while trying to create your own kit, or spark an interest in taking a little responsibility for yourself and others around you. The next post will be my "Large Trauma Kit". With each post, I'll link to the previous post so that you won't miss the previous kit. Hopefully these posts will encourage people to become more prepared when it comes to their own safety and those around them. Feel free to give me input whether it's based on your opinion or experience, or things YOU may carry in lieu of or also in your kit.

Some of this may seem redundant, why carry multiples of things?

2 is 1, and 1 is none.

20180227_132831.jpg

*I AM NOT a medical professional, none of this is medical advice or training. This is merely the measures I've taken for myself and those in my life. My girlfriend is a nurse and has given me training exceeding that of basic training on the tools I have at my disposal. I am also active military.

Sort:  

My next project is to get some medical supplies together for our home. We don’t have insurance, and I’d like to be able to take care of most minor things at home when possible. Minus the bags, did all these supplies cost quite a bit?

They can cost quite a bit, but you an get pretty much everything you need for the basics and a little more advanced basics at your local CVS/Walgreens. As far "prebuilt" kits like the focus and North American Rescue stuff, they do cost quite a bit. Just buy them over time, bit by bit if anything. Remember, your life may depend on your investment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77