Wonderful to learn that studies on Meditation exist...as in Norway, (U of Oslo)researching different forms of meditation.

in #meditation6 years ago

I will say, however, that my understanding appears very different from the approach used in that specific study.

I only have my personal experience to draw from. When in my 20's I had a boyfriend studying Buddhism in Boulder, CO. I was curious about the Tibetan Buddhist teacher Chögyam Trungpa who originated Naropa in 1974. Therefore, I received instruction in those early years; meditation was used to quiet the mind. We were taught to return to the breath once we were lost in our thinking. In those days, being young and confused, it was very difficult for me to follow my breath.

In recent years I've begun meditating again, and yes, my brain was still in overdrive, initially. However, I quickly realized the spaces between my thinking were being protracted.

So my understanding supports the theory of allowing the mind to wander as it pleases. How else can the meditator deduce that he/she is progressing in their practice? Quieting the mind is in itself a discipline that allows for better mental clarity and a sense of calmness. When one can only meditate with a disorganized mind full of chatter, there can be no inner peace. Perhaps it would be best to unwind the chatter and return to meditation once there is resolution to the noise. Therefore, one's meditation practise tracks our emotions so that we, as individuals become more enlightened humans when we interact with others in our lives.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bellakrinkle! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bellakrinkle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73