How to start meditation??

in #meditation6 years ago

I've been meditating for almost a year. Well, maybe it's too much said that I'm meditating. I trying to do it consistently. With different results.
meditation.jpeg
Each of us once heard somewhere something about meditation, but how many of you actually tried it? We have many schools and types of meditation. The Internet is full of information on that subject. We will not catalog and describe them here.

Briefly about meditation.

It seems simple. We sit in a chair or on the ground, straighten the back, relax, close our eyes and try not to think about anything. Breathing is the most important thing. Inhale using nose and exhalation with the mouth.

And here is a surprise.

We learn how hard it is for us not to think about anything. At first, it is almost impossible.

But do not worry about it! That's what it's all about. Just start doing it!
When I tried meditation for the first time a year ago, I set the alarm clock for 10 minutes, played some relaxing music from a simple meditation application and tried to sit in peace and quiet for those 10 minutes.
meditation5.jpg
However, there was a lot going on in my head at the time and I was shocked how many different thoughts I have.
I disconnected from the outside world because it is relatively simple with headphones on, but disconnecting from your thoughts is really difficult. It is very helpful then to focus on inhaling and exhaling. Even counting breaths up to 10.

Meditation apps!

Then I started using the Polish app INTU and it went quite well, but there were problems with the application itself so I switched to Headspace. It is a great app but there it was different. I listened to the INTU application in Polish so everything came right to my head. Headspace is in English, and it seems to me that my subconscious works differently when I listen to commands in a language other than my native language.

I can not explain it, but it feels so.


There is also Oak app. I have heard a lot of good about the Oak app but I admit that I have not tried it yet. Maybe I will try in the near future.

Recently I have a longer break from meditation and probably I will come back to it after finishing this series of 31 posts on Steemit.
Once I heard in some podcast that in meditation is not about to sit and do not think but to keep training your head just finding these thoughts and banishing them from our heads. If this is the truth, it's probably better for me than just turning myself off all thoughts.

I must admit that this is still a topic for which I have very little knowledge!


meditation3.jpeg
Let me know whether you are meditating and what are your thoughts on this subject?
Do you have any own methods of meditation or do you use specific techniques?

Thank you for reading this post and let me know if you like it.
I hope it's helpful for you.

Sort:  

Thank you for visiting and voting on my post @averageoutsider ...I handle the bothersome thoughts when meditating by 'not' fighting them, allowing them to leave as easily as they came in...an old Zen practice advice. Zen practitioners sometimes treat the bothersome thoughts as 'weeds' upon plucking, then laying them down they will give nourishment to the soil for something beautiful to grow. Regards, Have a happy day.

Thank you! I heard about that Zen practice already once :)

Thanks for your post! I write on meditation, feel free to check out my blog and maybe you’ll find a technique you like.

Thanks :) I like your blog and content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61