You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Meditation HOW and WHY" - everything you need to know - part nine: THERAVADA walking meditation

in #meditation6 years ago

This is so interesting to me. I practiced still meditation for a while, but to be honest I haven't in quite some time. The way you write about walking meditation seems to confirm a belief I have. I think as people we want to meditate and that it can happen very naturally. Perhaps while performing some repetitive motion at work, running, walking, and for myself fishing.

I call it the zone and it doesn't happen all the time. Most often when I'm down at the lagoon by myself and the fish aren't biting really well. I cast and retrieve, cast and retrieve, over and over until my senses change. It's crazy but I take in all of my natural surroundings from a deeper perspective and am very aware of my body. :)

Sort:  

You are on the right track there. Before meditation was called meditation in the west, people were getting in that state by doing repetitive actions. One of the first recorded things was weaving. I am glad you have your lagoon and a place to relax your mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88