Jeff Bezos chooses medium for publishing blackmailing emails

in #medium5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  
Loading...

This is an interesting post, holger. Medium was something I looked into. I wanted to understand what the difference was. As far as a network footprint, it seems superior to Steem. It’s just hard to get established there, or more that I couldn’t be bother figuring it out or put the time in to network. I just threw a couple of short story on Medium and another site to see what happened if you did nothing to promote them. Straight out, the Medium posts were picked up as my posts to be displayed as the top google results. That was very useful to know. If I had the time, Medium would be the site for me to invest in as far as my writing.

The difference is that on medium you have to pay 5$ for reading all content. There is no participation on its success. On steem there is a chance that it will survive and go up in value. In this case we all have more money in our pocket...

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s assuming you are here for the money. I tire of people assuming we all are. I’d gladly skip the money for quality and sincere interaction, for new ideas and the knowlege people read your post. As it is, I keep my sphere of association tight and try my best not to be affected by the fake traffic of Steem. I write my posts for the 3-5 people who might read. I’m essentially just chatting to friends I like here. And when that dries up, I’m out.

Maybe the point of Medium’s success is that it’s built around readership, whereas here on Steem, we have so many believe the only way to success is to keep churning out content no one is reading.

Steem will be my only crypto platform, and if it dies, I won’t bother with another. It’ll be nice to connect with people and know the size of yours/their wallet doesn’t affect the quality of interaction.

I agree, money allone cannot motivate in the long term. I'm almost a year on this chain and I'm keep going because I have fun and enjoy it.

It is a unique experience here on the blockchain, everything is open and immutable. When I write something, it will stay foreever and nothing is private. Until you give away your keys, I know that linnyplant is linnyplant. Does this make the conversion on steem more real than on other social networks?

I'm curious how things will develop here...

Steem is all about anonymity, Holger. It’s filled with bots and alt accounts. The information quality is no greater just because it is immutable. We do have an immutable load of spam, repetitive content, and posts about Steem that only interests steemians.

And will something really be there forever? In the end it’s just a farm of servers that can be taken offline. Nothing is a certainty, less so on a blockchain imo. I would say in some ways it’s less stable because in attempting for decentralisation, it has less control and accountability. That’s why people like to blame evertything on Ned here, rather than looking at themselves as to the problems of Steem.

So this place is unique for sure. Unique in the study to see what people would do for money. And not very much at that, if you’re someone who understands the value of your time.

But I’m focusing on the negatives.

On the flip side, some of my favorite online personalities live on steem. The good, though few in numbers, are gold. Those conversations are real. It just takes a lot of patience to find them and it really feels this Steem World is shrinking some days.

"Could his post hit trending on steemit.com without paying for bidbots?"

Let's give it a try.

What about the Rothschilds? Bezos is not the richest man on Earth, that's just what they want you to think.

Regardless, great post.

Hi, @holger80!

You just got a 2.79% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by holger80 [Witness] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You are displaying very spectacular news, this is really interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 39.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @holger80! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

This is will be an interesting story to follow as it also has some implications on how censorship could impact the news. Even aside from existing biases, it would be interesting to see the volumes and hits they get.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12