My First Steemit Meetup with Team Malaysia!

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

CNY 2018 with Team Malaysia

Team Malaysia, the biggest Malaysian Steemit community (I think), organized a meetup event yesterday (Feb 25) for Chinese New Year and I had a lot of fun! Since it was a Steemit event, I'm sure there'll be many other posts about the event as well. But, this will be my take on it!

28555602_10214875211650033_962216501_o.jpg

I was actually very pleasantly surprised by how nice the place was, the food was great and the people even more amazing. It's not that I was expecting something bad, it was just that with the event costing 2 STEEM, I thought it would be a much simpler and smaller scale thing. But boy was I wrong!

These were some of the things I enjoyed:

Putting Names to Faces

I think the best thing about such an event was that I could finally put faces to names that I've known and talked to for a few months since I joined the teammalaysia Discord channel. There were familiar people such as @bitrocker2020 and @maverickfoo who first introduced me to Steemit. But there were people who are so active on the Discord channel such as @elizacheng, @ackhoo, @deborism, @littlenewthings, @aaronleang, @karinzdailygrind, @happycrazycon etc etc etc. There were so many people! Sorry if I forgot any of you.

It was especially fun calling each other by our pen names instead of our real names since we recognized each other more that way. I thought that only happened with the video game community.

Connecting Mindvalley with Steemit

I was also glad that I started introducing Steemit to my colleagues a few weeks back. Some of which attended the event with me - @elvira.galina @joyceann21, @vikapuzach and @cshaw. Hopefully, the rest of Team Malaysia will be able to meet my other colleagues who are currently on Steemit as well - @kimlucy and @wordtreasure. There will be many more Mindvalley employees joining Steemit and Team Malaysia in the coming months and they will bring with them pretty amazing content!

28504700_10214875326252898_1359553851_o.jpg

It was also very interesting to see how so many people in Team Malaysia used to be connected to Mindvalley through our old programs such as Incitement and Project Renaissance. Hopefully, we will be able to bring Mindvalley back to be more active within the Malaysian community.

Meeting Foreign Steemians


For anyone who's read my older posts, you know that I love travelling and I love meeting new people and new experiences. It was great to meet other Steemians such as @shenoy, @firepower, @varunpinto and @sjennon as well who came all the way from India and Netherlands. It's great to have people from all over the world connected together and coming together through a common platform. And to celebrate our local Chinese New Year event no less! It was fun and great! I also learned a lot more about the Steem platform and how other countries view Cryptocurrency. So, it was also a night full of learning.
28383634_10214875213010067_443063706_n.jpg

Conclusion


Overall, it was a great experience. It made me truly appreciate Steemit and TeamMalaysia a lot more and I hope there will be a lot more social events to come. As mentioned during the party, my colleagues and I will be trying to bring Steemit more into Mindvalley and hopefully, we'll be able to host a coming meetup or workshop as well.

Thank you @aaronleang and @joannewong very much for hosting this event!

28471224_1596104557163605_9122001046452842346_n.jpg
Ignore the girl in the picture, the view from the party was amazing as well

follow_chuazm.gif

Sort:  

"Ignore the girl in the picture" .... hahaha...

It was good to finally meet you @chuazm. I remembered when you first came to our discord I was reading your travelling posts, and was always wondering when would be your next adventure.

Definitely will look forward to meet others in mindvalley and connect with brilliant minds together and learn from one another.

It was cool to get to know @cshaw and how after a huge circle in his family's journey overseas he is back in the capital of Malaysia.

Interesting how things planned out in life.

I see great potential Malaysia can be when like-minded young ones work together and encourage each other. And I will look forward to see how far it will go forth as well.

Great to get to know @vikapuzach too. And because of the crowd I definitely have missed quite a few more.

@joyceann21 , we actually live relatively close by with each other (along with @chloephuan93 ) definitely should brainstorm into working on something that might actually work with quilling on the wall!

Plenty of coffee and meet up in the future!
(But let me stable my fever blister and the discord first that is. haha.)

count me in... quilling on the wall!!! Oh!!! A HUGE project!!!
And ya... So kesian... "Ignore the girl in the picture" =_=|||

it was a great meet-up indeed! Already looking forward to the next one ;)

There are a lot of Durian + Bak Ku Teh adventures for team Malaysia, especially for @aaronleang, @joannewong and @zord189 ! If you are up to it @vikapuzach LOL.

Wassup?!?! Join us next time @vikapuzach!!! I've yet to meet you.

Someone summoned me at the call of Durian

The moment Durian + Bak Ku Teh is mentioned... @zord189 will appear!

haha can't promise to finish it all :P but definitely up for another try (I tried durian twice - second attempt was better but still quite far from a complete success)

No worries! I got ya! :D

Now still Durian season meh? I tried to bring Durian to the office. Kena complain haha. Maybe only 5% of the people I tried to feed Durian to enjoyed it

ice-potong durian @chazm. I took a picture of it today and I am going to tag the @firepower team to look into it. MUAH HA HA HA HA....

Everyday is Durian season 😂

When you add Durian + BKT , @zord189 will appear!

And add Ice cream + Steamboat, I'll appear 😆

I'll be writing more adventure posts soon! Now that the raining season is over, can start doing more things again

Looking forward to see that!

Yes let's make that happen @littlenewthings should I start collecting the "cylinders" :) @chloephuan93 I am ready to come by as long as it is not super early :) This is exciting!

Thank you for coming @chuazm and glad that you enjoyed it. Nice meeting you for the 1st time too!

Looking forward to meeting you at the ​future event and can talk more. :)

Great review and once again good to finally meet you! :-)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

it's cool , I give you my vote if you want to give me your upvote, thank you in advance...

Nice pic taken. Next time we meet up if I’m there in KL

Pleasure meeting you @chuazm. It's amazing to see how many you have brought on board and they are all expats in Malaysia. Glad to have met @cshaw, @joyceann21 and @elvira.galina too :)

Thanks for stopping by.. it was always great to add a bit of international flair to our events.. see you guys soon

Thanks, @chuazm for joining us on this event, glad that you can make it and bring the others as well 😊.

Look forward to​ your MindValley Steemit Sharing Session hosted by you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85