Coming to America - The 1st Writers' Block Meetup!

in #meetup6 years ago

UK-US-flags.png
Source

Wow, I am so excited! Ever since @thewritersblock was created last September we have spoken about meeting up. On my way to Steemfest last year I met my first Blockhead - @tinypaleokitchen in Belgium. Although we have members from all corners of the globe - yes, I realize globes don't have corners - a sizable percentage are US based, as is my co-admin the lovely @rhondak.

Rhonda and @anarcho-andrei recently attended a Steem meetup in Tennessee and made some valuable connections. I am not currently at liberty to divulge too much at this time, but we believe it will take @thewritersblock to the next level. All of our hard work during the past eight or so months looks to be paying off. Full of excitement about the future of our community, Rhonda was fit to bursting and couldn't wait to voice chat with me as she returned home from the get-together.

GATLINBURG_TN_PNG.png
Source

"We need to meet up" I was told. I agreed, so plans were quickly drawn together to arrange for as many of The Writers' Block members to meet up in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. In attendance will be one of the valuable contacts Rhonda made last week, who will present further details of a certain project we are sure will be of great benefit to our community. Naturally, this will also be a great chance to meet and cement friendships with some of our awesome members I have spoken with during the past 8 months.

Rhonda has gone ahead and looked at cabins for us to rent and found one for a reasonable $760 or so. This will accommodate 8 people easily, more if we don't mind getting squashed =D.

Capture.PNG
Source

My flights from the UK will cost around $1,200 and entails flying first to Dublin, then onto Washington, before landing in Knoxville. Travel time is around 15hrs 40 mins in economy, but by hook or by crook I will get there. I don't have that long to get my tickets though, as the date of this meetup is June 21-24, just over 4 weeks time! Eek! Better get earning more on Steem.

We may be looking to start up a fundraiser so we can help more Block members with the costs of traveling and attending.

I am beyond excited, not just for the future of The Writers' Block, but for the chance to finally get face to face with some of the awesome characters I speak with daily. It's gonna be a blast!


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

I’ll pitch in as long as it’s a one way ticket Muxxy!!! 😂
After all there is an open invitation.......

I’d say you qualify 😂😂😂😂😂

Hahaha, you git

Muxxy goes West!
Awesome, I hope it will be an amazing meeting, and I am sure it will be. Unfortunately I won't be able to be there... but. There is always next year!

This is huge, game-changing stuff. I'm so excited I can't stand it!!!

I'm so stoked... Hardly slept in 2 nights lol.

Hope this helps with the fundraising!
😀

Whaaaaa!! This is going to be wonderful 💜

Don't worry, be back in plenty of time to meet you ❤️

Oh good! Don’t forget about me :)

As if that were remotely possible...

"write on" dudes (-: looks awesome !

TWB meetup complete with surprise guest and big news?! Geez I wish I could make this. I'll be very jealous of those that do. When it comes to time off work we bid in six month chunks, and our staffing is so low right now that there isn't room for unforecasted leave. I will experience this vicariously through your blog posts Sir Muxx.

Oh! I so wish I could join you! Have tons of fun!!! 💖

sounds exciting, happy travels and best wishes for the future of TWB!

Thank you!

Ooh. I have two trips planned in the next month and a half. Wonder if I could squeeze in one more!

Do it!

I totally want to! Let me see if its feasible. It would be so cool.

Ohhh I sure everything will be great and you will have a nice experience. I hope you can collect more money to take more steemians to this learning and fun experience. Have a safe flight and I wish TWB the best on their projects!

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48