Inland Northwest Steemit Meetup Potluck/Picnic

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

Based on the feedback from my meetup proposal post, it looks like Sunday afternoon, October 7th at Farragut State Park is a go! I suggest planning to meet at the small shelter at the Sunrise Day Use Area around 1:00 PM.

I haven't made a formal reservation yet, because

A. They want a minimum of 40 people for a reservation, and
B. They want $190 total for the reservation and a cleaning/damage/security deposit.

I doubt we will have enough people for that to be an issue in the first place. However, please RSVP in the comments below, because if enough people are interested, I'll go ahead and cover that. I assume y'all can clean up after yourselves well enough that the deposit portion would be refunded. If we don't have enough people who say they're coming to make that worthwhile, we'll just hope it's available. As an alternative, we can just shift over to the nearby Willow Picnic Area if the shelter is already occupied.

If you don't have a park pass, buy one for the day at the Visitor Center for $5. To reach the Sunrise/Willow Day Use Area, turn right onto Hwy. 54 after buying your day pass at the Visitor Center and then take the next right onto South Road. Drive past the assorted campground areas and keep going to the end of the road. If you miss the signs for the parking lot, just be sure to stop before you drive into Lake Pend Oreille!

I plan to bring various card and board games, my banjo, and a somewhat dry sense of humor with the occasional bout of bad puns. I haven't decided what food I will contribute yet. If we have access to the shelter, there will be electricity, but I wouldn't advise bringing a crock pot or other appliances unless we have enough participants to make a reservation worthwhile, or you have a way to run it from your vehicle as a backup plan. Do include a complete recipe or ingredient list if possible for anything you bring to share, because a number of participants (including me) have assorted food allergies. If it's simpler, just bring a picnic for yourself. There are also outdoor grills on site.

If you know any other Steemians in the eastern Washington, North Idaho, and Western Montana region, please let them know!

Location map (PDF)

Park Map (JPG) embedded below:

Sort:  

Still going to try and make it, but don't want to make any promises yet! haha

Sounds like fun. Wish I was closer.

You have almost 2 weeks to get here! Start driving! LOL!

I plan to be there. No idea what I'm bringing yet. But it will be good.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Looks like you make the same comment over and over. Might be why someone came along and flagged this as soon as you posted it? You did actually vote, so no flags from me, but perhaps a more substantive, relevant comment would be a better policy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72