Inland Northwest Steemit Meetup Proposal

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

How many other residents of the Inland Northwest* would be interested in an informal meetup at Farragut State Park near Bayview, Idaho? This is just a few miles east of Athol on State Highway 54, just off U.S. Route 95 between Coeur d'Alene and Sandpoint. It's only about an hour's drive from Spokane Valley.

If we were to meet on a Sunday afternoon, there would be plenty of time to explore the area. Kids could bring bicycles. The Sunrise/Willow Day Use Area is one of many places with parking, picnic shelters, restrooms, and easy access to the park's trail system. There would also be a lot more room to spread out than if we met in a restaurant like we have in the past. Further, if we held a potluck or picnic event, no one would be left to foot the bill.

Cost for a day pass is around $5 per vehicle, and I will inquire about group reservations at the various sites. Please comment below if you are interested, and how many people plan to attend. It may even be possible to park some cars at the Athol Super 1 grocery store if people prefer to save some money by carpooling to the park from there.

How does Sunday, October 7th sound? If we have enough interest, I can call to inquire about reserving a site so we can promote this officially!

Farragut pavilion

*I don't mean to exclude others who may wish to travel from Canada or areas in the US outside eastern Washington, the Idaho panhandle, and western Montana. If the travel fits your plans, please chime in, too!

Sort:  

That sounds perfect! I'm glad you suggested a Sunday as soccer season makes Saturdays impossible. We'll bring ukuleles, guitars and maybe my banjo so you can teach me a thing or two!

A thing or two is exactly the limit of my banjo knowledge, so perfect!

Count us in! I'll even bring some food and hopefully diverting conversational skills, lol!

Whoo-hoo! Sounds like a party already! We'll bring some sort of allergy friendly concoctions!

I will see whether I can do the same. I need to avoid dairy and beef. Your clan needs to watch out for dairy and gluten, right?

Our list is way too long for anyone else to deal with: Carrot, cherry, nuts, soy, corn, eggs, sunflower seeds, most grains (even GF oats!!) artificial colors & flavors, and more. Although she seems fine with grass fed butter at least! Then there are the things that she can tolerate for a few days until her immune system starts rejecting them: stone fruits, citrus, apples, broccoli, spinach, lettuce...

Anyway, my point is thanks, but please don't worry about us. It will drive you to the brink of insanity! 😆

I appreciate your naive assumption that I am not already there!

Sounds good to me!

Bigger isn't always better!!

What does that have to do with the price of protocol droids on Tattoine?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91