First Blockchain Meetup Planned - And A Just Do It Type Of Rant

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

If you read my blog a couple of days ago, you know that I have been planning a Blockchain/Crypto meetup. However, my back have not been too well, so I have been distracted. But! Today I feel better. There is still pain but it is way more tolerable.

So, today I finally scheduled the first meetup for a blockchain related community I have started here in Denmark. I am really excited to see how well it will go and especially how many people will show up.

With the communities I have started, I sometimes hear: "Rawbin, It could be cool if you did X and also Y. I would definitely be interested in that!". And then if I do X and Y, sometimes it is a success, sometimes it is not. That is how the world works. But as I - and probably many others - realize, is that doing is better than not doing. In the past, I felt fear of failing held me back much more than it does now. Sure, failing still sucks. Being embarrassed can be hard. Then again, at the same time I have learned, that it does not really matter much what others think. You just have to keep doing what you like to do. It usually pays off in the long-term. Maybe you make money, maybe you become famous, maybe you get whatever you like or even better - maybe you make lasting friendships.

I think the Crypto space is a really good example of something that many people initially thought was stupid, crazy, nonsensical. Somehow, the communities of Crypto kept going despite the push-back and the ridicule, and now we are here nearing if not mass adoption then mass knowledge of the existence and qualities of the space.

In other words, the Crypto spaces show how long-term payoff, not just financially, more or less come from staying true to what you like to do and keeping at it. Not just in a symbolic way but also in a very physical and real way.

This turned into a rant of something altogether different than a meetup. To bring things back, meetups seems like a great way to get the ball rolling in terms of your interests. I think it fuels you to know, that others are interested in your your thing, your niche. It makes you realize that you are not at all alone with your interests.

So I guess my point is: If you would really like to do something, that you think could be great for you. Try it, if you can, or do what is necessary to put yourself in a place, where you can try said thing. It seems so simple, yet, I have been really bad at just that before, but now, I feel like I am getting much better at it. If you have felt the same way, I hope you want to go out there and get better and "just doing" too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65