You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GREAT MEN WALK THE STREETS TOO: Exploring the power of untold stories in shaping society

in #memoir6 years ago

I have not seen someone who could capture the life if a people and the essence thereof the way you have been able to capture it. I have lived in Aba and I know Nweke Street, Eziama, Ngwa Road and many of the other places you mentioned. Since I left Aba, I have lived in many other places and I can say that no other place has the level of humanity that I witnessed in Aba. Yes, there is no government presence in most parts of the town, and yes it is a filthy town. But I am yet to see another town in Nigeria where the people look out for others against all odds.

And yes, you nailed it when you said that:

Accepting this discomfort that comes with acknowledging that greatness lies raw and unrefined in the questions and answers that we embody is gold yet untapped.

I could not agree with you more. Accepting this discomfort may begin with learning the name of the pump attendant at that petrol station or looking at the face of that doorman. I am in awe of your talent. Thank you for sharing.

If you could write more here, it would be awesome. Thank you.

Sort:  

Thanks @churchboy
Haha... It's really nice to find someone here that can relate with the post on a deep level such as this as a result of having lived in Aba as well. I think that you're right about how much humanity is exercised in Aba. The people have found a way to thrive in themselves even with the broken government systems and vices that abound. In Aba, you get a sense of it all - love, loss, fear, pain, pride, freedom, etc. - and all are crisp and very visible in how they play out in the lives of the people.
Cheers!

Thank you for your reply. You have a way with words. I enjoy reading your work. All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69321.61
ETH 3682.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29