My Memories As A Quizbowler: 2011 | My Humble Beginning

in #memory6 years ago (edited)

It was during the Freshmen Orientation of the Allied Engineering Department (now College of Engineering) of University of Cebu Lapu-Lapu and Mandaue (UCLM) that I heard of the term Mathematician of the Year when the host of that event introduced the winner of the Mathematician of the Year of the previous school year (2010-2011). I was delighted upon hearing it and I told myself “I will take a shot on that title, I’ve got the talent and all I need to do is enhance my skills in Mathematics and be able to attend small quizbowls relating to Mathematics since my first experience in quizbowl is on the subject HEKASI (HEOGRAPIYA, KASAYSAYAN at SIBIKA) which was during my 6th grade. I have lots of struggles during my first year in college and if not for the strictness of our beloved Algebra I, 2D CAD, and 2D Drawing instructor Engr. Marvin V. Bubuli (he is a Steemian too, @marbul21 is his username) I wouldn’t study on Algebra 1 and Trigonometry subjects since during my early days in my alma mater I am a gamer I’m addicted to the Ninja Saga game in Facebook and Special Force which was an online game that is very popular at that time; and I had to admit those are the ones that kills my time. I even skip my classes in Chemistry 1 since I need to join Clan Battles in the game Ninja Saga which is always in conflict with my class which is always 12:30 in the afternoon up to 1:30 in the afternoon; well, I am too confident (not boasting though) on my Chemistry 1 at that time since I still have the stock knowledge from the Basic Chemistry subject in my 3rd and Advance Chemistry 4th years during my high school which also happens to be my favorite Science subject. Thankfully, the time I spend in studying Algebra 1 and Trigonometry made me among the top 10 in our departmental examinations and because of that I was inspired to study Mathematics only in preparation for the Junior Math Wizard and ultimately the Mathematician of the Year.

Junior Math Wizard is the first Mathematics quizbowl I attended and I was thankful to pass the screening done by the instructors and leaders of the Engineering Mathematical Council. The said event is open for 1st up to 3rd year engineering students. At first I am too shy and very worried. My friends who are also participating in the said quizbowl were a lot of fun and we told each other to not get a score of zero and all of us agreed on that one. Though it was my first time I challenged myself to secure a 3rd place finish. Thankfully I made it to the top 3. I thought I couldn’t make it since the Sanyo Calculator that I am using is having a problem especially on the button keys for “0” and “=“. I was trailing all the time to the one who is securing the top 3 from the easy and average round. When the final round came, I managed to got correct answers on key questions which help me get to the top 3. I was so happy that time since I will be wearing the first medal that I have received all my student life since I always belong to the pilot section during my high school and I wasn’t into competing all I want is to grind in the first and second grading to have high grades of more than 87 up and for the third and fourth grading is more on slowing down and relaxing, more like of just achieving the 85% grade in maintaining the status of being a student under the curriculum DOST-ESEP (Department of Science and Technology - Engineering and Science Educational Program) of my high school alma mater, Mandaue City Comprehensive National High School (MCCNHS). And as for my elementary days, I may have high grades but I’m lazy enough since I love playing games and I am a notable mischief in my class hahahaha. Also I’m lazy at that time especially for the signing of clearances every school year end, I don’t bother thinking of those since playing kites is more important than those clearances and my mother will do that for me during enrolment periods which would result of me being admitted to lower sections and I its fun since all my classmates are mischief. Hahahahaha. Moving back to the Junior Math Wizard, the Top 3 will have a slot for the Mathematician of the Year which is due to happen every Entrepreneurship Day or College Days in our University.

junior math wizard0.jpg

This photo was taken during the Junior Math Wizard. I am at the center the one who is looking up, I have no idea what I am doing that time.

junior math wizard.jpg

It was a very great feeling to be on that stage wearing a medal. And after that experience, many followed up until I graduated college.

The next quizbowl I had attended is the search for the Mathematician of the Year which was held last 8th of March 2012. The event was so hype since it is held at the Study Hall of our university wherein it can be witnessed by students not just engineering but from all sorts of students from the many courses being offered by our alma mater. Though I considered it as a training ground. I didn’t achieved getting the title of Mathematician of the Year but I am thankful and very proud of my classmate and bestfriend @jonmylestan for securing it for the Mechanical Engineering department and making history as the first and only 1st year to ever won that title. As for me if I didn’t changed my first answers I would have unanimously won that event since heading on the difficult round I am the one with the highest score at 32. And after the difficult round I managed to just got 1 correct answer which is equivalent to 5 points which is 37 overall and 5th overall amongst the participants which are from 1st up to 5th year engineering students. I would had garnered a commanding score of 52 if I followed my first instincts in solving those 3 crucial questions wherein I always erased it since I am not that confident on those answers.

moty average.jpg

The scoreboard heading into the difficult round. @engrdrdarwin corrected all the 10 questions in average round and as for me I managed to get 8 out of the 10 questions. In the average round, each correct answer is worth 3 points.

moty 03082012.jpg

@jonmylestan and I, are the back of that time since we are arranged according to our last names. @juecoree is also the one in the left corner of the picture.

image

Of course that event wouldn’t be memorable if not for my classmates, my Mechanical Engineering classmates surprise us with a banner to show support on us, of which @jonmylestan, Brylle P. Gilbuena and I were so happy for their support and loud cheers.

I guess that’s all for now on my experiences as a quizbowler of which I selected to be by school year since if I had to do it by subject it would be too long.

Thank you for spending your precious time reading this blog post of mine.

Much love and respect.

Best regards,

Ace | @josephace135

3rd and 4th Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by josephace135 (acethegreatclown) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by josephace135 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73