You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Self

in #mental-note5 years ago

My Wife and I work together, live together, and play together...it can be challenging. We are together pretty much non stop. Just joked with her today that I bet we have spent more time together then most life long couples in their 80's.

I know what she is thinking before she thinks it, which then causes me to interrupt her far to often. She gets mad at me for "not listening to her" but I literally can tell her word for word not only what she already said, but what she was planning to say. It truly infuriates her to no end.

I then need to remind myself to just shut up, listen (or pretend to), and then answer. It lasts for a few days...then I fall back into bad behaviors, takes her a few days to point it out again and the cycle happens over and over. It will probably never truly change...sad truth, but it's worked for us this long.

Sort:  

This is such an awesome comment @pifc, that was raw—thank you! I think we’re similarly speaking of the same thing. You must know what I mean by ‘coaching.’

Like you; we live, eat, work etc together, how long have you been married? We just clocked year number two back in December. Maybe you just wrote a mental-note to yourself... is she on the blockchain? Happy Friday!

Thanks a lot for stopping by @pifc.

No she isn't on the blockchain...she can't see the future in it, yet understands why I invest the time I do since I believe in it.

We have been married now for 17 years. She has worked with me most of those years and 3 before that while we were dating. So it's been a long time for us and should give you hope...lol.

There are challenges to waking up next to someone and being with them all day everyday. Sometimes you just need a break. Make sure to keep some activities that you each enjoy on your own. And maybe more important than anything ~don't be afraid~ make sure to keep your own identities while making your new lives together.

Dang! You’re full of them. You one-upped yourself with this one. I didn’t think your last comment could be topped but that would’ve been false. I really appreciate this advice @thedarkhorse. Thank you!

Thanks for the compliment. Sometimes people think I overstep or can't handle talking about real things, but felt you would be open with a post like this.

I probably should come with a warning label. You will get my thoughts in a pure unfiltered way...more so from my personal account then the community account. But either way I very much a what you see if what you get person and you either can accept that about me...or you hate me. There really isn't much in between with me and I'm good with that. Either way I tend to evoke emotion from people and that tells me I'm doing something right in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75