Hunkering Down With Hope

in #mentalhealth4 years ago


When all seems too scary I fall back on the dreams that powered me here

Dear Daniel,

Contemplating what the coming months will be like is a little scary. My 60+ year old parents still insist on going out. Some of this is out of necessity, some of it is out of hard headedness and believing they are invincible.

Mom goes to my sister's house and babysits the grandchildren, and comes home. I offered to grocery shop for them but Dad insists on going himself. Dad is a public defender, he has spent most of his time in his office, and they're going out to pick up a few odds and ends in a while. I really wish they wouldn't but I can't control them.

They're not being reckless, they're just taking more chances than I really care for. I have a compromised immune system in that I have Diabetes. Dad has a pacemaker and respiratory issues. Mom is in a vulnerable age group, but is healthier than either Dad or me.

I hear Dad talking about it now. I really wish they would shut-up. I try to remain calm with it on a constant loop on television and the incessant blathering on about it around me. I realize this is serious and scary but it's hard to tell myself it's all going to be okay when the only input I'm getting is a type of end of days scenario from my parents and the news.

So I do the only thing I can and put my headphones on and listen to music scores from movies. And I try to remember during times of stress that I am an artist. I write. I speak truth to power. And I entertain and distract from pain and anxiety when the world is going to hell. I write. And when the world emerges from this collective scare and pandemic I can resume my filmmaking life as usual.

That being said an executive producer has expressed interest in all of my books and in my and Missy's screenplays. Most notably the Guardian. As Hollywood shuts down and my manager is unable to pitch Letters to Daniel to networks and production companies it is imperative that I also work in tandem with her to make sure me and Missy's dreams come true.

When the world awakens from this nightmare I hope we come together and do not fan the flames of divisiveness. That we a bruised and battered and bent but not broken. Stay safe everyone and if you're cooped up, write on my friends, write on.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=287

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80