Returning to An Old Friend

in #mentalhealth4 years ago


Current hero from current wip Alastair

Dear Daniel Craig,

With the coronavirus scare/pandemic in flux right now I find myself constantly anxious and on edge. It makes it it difficult for me to focus on the thing that I love, writing and creating.

I don't often blog anymore because I don't feel compelled to. But the simple fact of the matter is I still need it to cope with some of these negative emotions. Like not being able to relax. Wondering how safe is it to go outside and simply buy a cup of coffee or even buy fast food.

People seem to have lost their collective minds, hoarding everything from toilet paper and soap, to pet food and meat. The logical part of my brain says keep calm, take precautions, everything will be okay. Then I watch the news and I am seized with a terrible sense of calamity.

For someone who struggles daily with bipolar disorder, anxiety, and PTSD, this stuff is grist for the trigger mill. You want to stay informed, but you don't want to inundated with end of days scenarios which is exactly where your brain goes.

Many of my favorite March activities have been cancelled. Such as March Madness. Missy and I were going to go watch the Final Four in a sports bar in Indianapolis.

April 25 I was to attend the Indie Film Awards where Letters to Daniel was nominated for Best Narrative Feature Film in New York. I have diabetes so I decided to cancel the trip.

I decided against ICFF, even though we were nominated in three categories, Filmmaker Of the Year, Actor of the Year, and Actress of the Year in May. Film-Com postponed until October.

So far my summer festivals are safe.

One good thing, I am hard at work on a new novel and Recovery Unplugged has doubled viewership in it's second season. There are only three episodes left for this season.

So I guess that's two good things. The picture accompanying this letter is representative of my hero. Alastair, an emotionally damaged running legend who finds love-and danger-in the most unlikely place.

Anyway that's enough for now, don't forget to tune into Recovery Unplugged this Monday at 9:30pm EST when our guest will be actor/author Nathan Day.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=281

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81