Staying Focused

in #mentalhealth4 years ago


How do you stay focused in the world today?

Dear Daniel,

It feels like the world is falling apart. I've felt this way since 2016. Hatred is on the rise. And people are using it to rise to power or to fritter away their responsibilities to the country at large. Having not 1 but 2 chronic conditions concerns me.

Diabetes because (I'm not saying this to single anyone out, it's just a statement of fact), I was on podcast and the other guest proceeded to tell me how diabetics don't "deserve" healthcare because they brought it on themselves. They didn't know I was diabetic, but I'm not giving him a pass on being a royal douche.

And bipolar disorder because this same moron said if you just go camping you'd be cured. What an insensitive and irresponsible thing to suggest.

I am one of the many who depend on social security/disability on which to live on. Thanks to many supporters I have been able to live my dream of pursuing the arts full time.

People these days think art should be free. Or that I should get a real job. I had one filmmaker local to me savage me because I finished a quality film and he is a shitty filmmaker. It came out of nowhere and shocked and hurt me. I considered this guy a friend. Just goes to prove not everyone around you is in your corner

Fortunately, I have built a circle friends and mentors that losing a hater was really a dismissive experience. I've had my work referred to as everything from trash to brilliant.

Today I'm just feeling that general anxiety and inability to push forward that has been plaguing me the last week. I suffer from anxiety anyway. It has been heightened by the coronavirus coverage. Fortunately I've been able to watch nothing but the Golden Girls today. That and I feel a nap coming on. So, as for now I'm signing off.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=284

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85