Psychosis is Beautiful

in #mentalillness5 years ago

Writing poems that personify trees and expand upon images that might otherwise be ignored makes me think of the bending of visions also called psychosis. Psychosis can come as a visionary answer and can bring new perspectives. Psychosis does not have to be horrific or scary for the people who see it. As Americans and citizens of the world, we need to remodel how we perceive psychosis. So I call my works "Guided Psychosis" with all of that in mind. Every day I see images in the natural world that speak a different sort of language to me. Lines blur between psychosis and poetry. Nature images seem improved by the lens of the mentally ill person or shaman who sees differently. So I present to you a chapbook that has nothing to do with psychosis and has everything to do with psychosis, also. As a poet, I learn to observe the world more deeply and creatively. I hold these pictures of the natural world beside the warped lens of psychosis knowing my own mental illness has gifted me with a unique way of seeing things that I would not have if I had never been so different.

Sort:  

Congratulations @brazen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67751.96
ETH 3530.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16