Entry for Mermaid Monday Contest Week 15 - Theme: Seasons

in #mermaidmonday6 years ago (edited)

Mermaid 6.jpg

My Entry for Mermaid Monday Contest - Week 15

Thank you to @nymia.aryn for hosting the contest. Here is the link to the contest post in case you would like to enter:

https://steemit.com/contest/@nymia.aryn/mermaid-monday-contest-week-15-theme-seasons-or-or-join-now-see-prizes-inside-or-or-2fc542159937b

This is the first time I've entered this fun contest. I've always liked mermaids since I was a child and read about a mermaid princess. Each week I admire the lovely entries to this contest. This week I pluck up the courage to enter myself.

I decided to draw mermaids wearing their outfits for the seasons. I thought that a fashion show of seasonal outfits could happen underwater and we would never know! How cool would that be?

As you can see, I begin with spring. She wears a green costume decorated with grasses bursting into life.

Spring is followed by summer, dressed in a mermaid bikini top to help her keep cool.

Autumn (fall) is next, wearing a falling-leaf outfit.

Lastly, winter with a mean face, closes the show in her snowflake outfit.

If we were there, we would feel the difference in water temperature as each mermaid presents her season.

Here is my process:

Mermaid 1.jpg

  • First I drew the overall plan in my sketchbook. I wanted the mermaids to flow into each other like the seasons do.

Mermaid 2.jpg

  • Next I drew the mermaid shapes.

Mermaid 3.jpg

  • For the next stage, I sketched in details of the seasonal outfits.

Mermaid 4.jpg

  • I outlined the mermaids using appropriately coloured pen and ink to add definition to the picture.

Mermaid 5.jpg

  • Next, I worked on each individual mermaid. I coloured her outfit using my colouring pencils. I made this image in Canva for these process shots.

Mermaid 6.jpg

  • Last of all, I added details and bubbles as the show takes place underwater.

I hope you will accept my entry.

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are lots of cool artworks to see there. Follow this link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/5ygnut-steemit-art-centre-thursday-s-update

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Hey how about that, I seen this magnificent drawing posted at “Steemit Art Centre” it pays off to check it out the gallery, I might have missed this wonderful drawing if I didn’t. What a great idea to have a “fashion show” under the sea, brilliant! There so lovely, and I especially love the way you’ve posed each one, that took some thinking. I’m so blessed you entered your artwork here, not only because I enjoy seeing it, but also because @nymia.aryn’s “Mermaid Monday” has really dropped in entries as well. I want to help keep her going, I love this contest, and the host is a dear person❣️Thanks Dee

Thank you for your kind comments and for upvoting my post.

My evening job has finished for the summer vacation so I have more time to enter contests. This one was fun for me.

All the contest have dwindled. I hope @nymia.aryn doesn't lose heart.

Hola muy colorida y hermosa sirenas me gustaron mucho,saludos

Muchas gracias. Fue divertido dibujar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84