What is a Mermaid?

in #mermaids6 years ago (edited)

MERMAIDS

A mermaid is an aquatic creature, often described as a half human female, half fish. There are no known male Mermaids, and we do not yet know how these creatures reproduce. Mermaids have never been filmed in the wild, and only a few have been briefly studied.

The idea that these creatures are half fish is due to their long fish like tail that starts at the lower abdomen were us humans would have our legs. I personally think of them as a creature that evolved for ocean living instead of land. I believe these creatures to be the aquatic equivalent of land humans.
_MG_4036-2.jpg
In this post I will describe these mischievous creatures and their mysterious lives (or at least as much as we know about them from observations while in captivity).

I was lucky enough to get close to take a few photos of these beautiful aquatic creatures. However, keep in mind that these Mermaids might not behave as those in the wild, as I was told by the aquarium staff. We are yet to be able to study them in the ocean as they are extremely shy creatures, and they live in the ocean depths. Only a few have ever been seen in the wild but none have been filmed in their natural habitat.
_MG_4162-3.jpg

Needles to say, I feel extremely lucky and honored to have been able to get close and personal with a few of these creatures.

_MG_4157-3.jpg

These Mermaids were extremely friendly as they have been raised by humans. Some even allowed children to touch them and mimicked the crowd gestures and facial expressions.
_MG_4003-3.jpg

_MG_4146-2.jpg

I noticed Mermaids differ from each other just as us humans do. I also noticed their tails seemed to match their hair color and upper body markings.
_MG_4160-2.jpg

IMG_4477.jpg

Some were more playful than others, but overall they were all very tame and fun to watch! ;)
_MG_4023-2.jpg

_MG_3995-2.jpg

These are highly intelligent an social creatures. They form very strong bonds with each other and could not survive in isolation. Biologist have theorized that they are schooling type of aquatic creatures and you can often find them in groups of at least a dozen.
_MG_4143-2.jpg

The Mermaid's main diet consists of ocean greens such as algae and some types of corals. They also seem to be able to "adopt" some types of other sea creatures as "pets".

These are some of the ocean creatures mermaids have been known to keep around and favor as pets.
IMG_4317-2.jpg

IMG_4078.JPG
I hope that you enjoyed learning all about Mermaids and looking at these photos.

Thank you so much for looking at my post!
IMG_4398.jpg

*Pss. this is a fictional story, I hope I didn't confuse anyone ;)

Sort:  

Hi @arosebunch. Nice to meet you!
A rich imagination.
Are you mermaid in the pictures?
Very nice and friendly, I want to drown to you be help as in the films.
Will you help me. :) Hihihi

Thank you so much and very nice to meet you too! I took these photos from outside the water through the aquarium glass (unfortunately no, I am not a mermaid but I surely wish I was). This is an event at Odyssey Aquarium and it's called Mermaid Magic. It is truly magical :)

Oh ... :)
It's wonderful, we like to revive our childhood when watching mermaids. If there is a similar event in my place, I will take my child to see. Unfortunately there will be no :)
Thank for your information, and hope you will be the mermaid. :)

This is a very interesting story about mermaids. Rusalki are beautiful and you can dream about their existence. It's entertaining!

Rusalki, does this mean mermaid? If so, what language? Thank you for reading my post :)

Wow! I was amazed by the first one, but this one is even better; well still love some photos from the previous post!
Was that some kind of event or festival? :D

😅 I did have to add some of my favorite mermaid 🧜‍♀️ THANK YOU soooooo much for your kind words! Your comments mean a great deal to me ☺️

This was an event at Odyssey Aquarium in Scottsdale, AZ. I could not tell you if this event would happen again but I would guess it will. It is a very neat aquarium if you ever get a chance to visit.

Hi arosebunch,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow! I am at a loss for words! THANK YOU SO MUCH! Goodness gracious, I am absolutely humbled by all of your support. THANK YOU <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59