Old School Comedic Heavy Metal - A blast from the past

in #metal7 years ago


I've been wanting to do a post highlighting a few funny songs within the genre of Metal music. Some of these are lost in antiquity and it is my hope that some of these might be a first time audio experience for you. I hope that I can find representations of all of the songs that are dancing around within my memories. Enjoy. I hope you get some chuckles, laughs, or perhaps grimaces out of this journey.

When I first heard the name Ludichrist I did not think of the musical artist that most of you likely associate with that name. Instead I think of a metal band that would later change their name. However, while they were still Ludichrist they had a rather enjoyable and amusing band.

Ludichrist - This Party Sucks - 1988 from the album "Powertrip"


This band would go on to change their name to Scatterbrain and comedic metal seems to have been a particular forte of theirs. I'll be going over a few of their songs here.

Scatterbrain - Don't Call Me Dude - 1990 from the album "Here comes trouble"




From that album they also did a cover of the Cheech & Chong song Earache My Eye from the movie Up In Smoke.

Scatterbrain - Earache My Eye - 1990 from the album "Here comes trouble"




Just for completion here is the Cheech & Chong version they were covering...
Cheech & Chong - Earache My Eye - from the movie "Up In Smoke"

I'll only show one more Scatterbrain song before moving onto some other amusing titles.

Scatterbrain - Tastes Just Like Chicken - from the album "Scamboogery"


A friend of mine introduced me to this Green Jelly song telling a song about the "Three Little Pigs".

Green Jelly - Three Little Pigs



There was another band that came a long that had a lot of humor as well as being a progressive metal variant that is a combination of funk, punk and metal. It would be lead by members of Suicidal Tendencies including current Metallica bassist *Rob Trujillo". This band is called Infectious Grooves and in reality you could just play their albums from start to end and they could easily qualify as a comedy music post. Instead of doing that I'll pick a few moments that I believe highlight some of their particular humor and great music to go along with it.

Infectious Grooves - Punk It Up




The Infectious Grooves albums often have little comedy skit intermission like skits that play as a track between the actual musical songs. I wanted to play one of those here so you can see how they can be.

Infectious Grooves - Closed Session



Infectious Grooves - You Lie... And Yo Breath Stank



Infectious Grooves - Savor Da Flavor


I've done a post on the band Primus before and I want to throw one of their songs in here as they certainly qualify for being a Comedy Metal hybrid.

Primus - Mr. Knowitall - Live - 1991


This is already a long post and I could easily go on. If you don't like this and think this post was a waste of time then I have one song to end with. (just kidding, it's part of humor as well)

Overkill - Fuck you


Sort:  

They all are amazing songs!! I really it overkill-fuck you!! Lol!! Thanks for sharing with us these amazing song @dwinblood!!

When I have time I hear them, the only one that I know is FUCK YOU.... it is awesome.
Thanks for sharing dude

Cool =)

Bet you've heard The Offspring before!

Amazingly, the lead singer Bryan 'Dexter' Holland has just completed his doctoral dissertation in molecular biology, which you can read here.

There's so many great Offspring, Primus, Clutch and other bands' videos I wanna post back lol!

Thanks for the inspiration =D

I had to force myself to stop when I did... I could come up with 5 to 10 times the amount of material I posted about pretty quickly.

Blast from the past! Those are some far out lyrics. Steem On brother!

The must have one you missed (other than 'No Anchovies Please'):

Awesome list man! Those are from back in the day when people actually rocked out for real. The lyrics do make me laugh though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65