My Silver Stacking Stupidity 4

in #metalsmafia6 years ago (edited)

What’s up Steemit, today I’m going to continue on in my stacking stupidity series with the PAMP bars.
25A0E3B4-54F4-4118-ADA1-F5EADFBD6464.jpeg
I know I’m going to ruffle feathers on this one but for me these are a big waste. While these bars are extremely generous they really do nothing for my stack except fill up a 2 oz space.
446867D4-33E2-4D05-B571-7DE118AED11F.jpeg
These bar are extremely expensive or at least the two I have were and their presentation part relies on the packaging.
C72BD4C7-42FA-4AB8-B6C2-7BCAE81449C7.jpeg
What I me by that is the packaging is part of the piece. You’re really not supposed to cut them out. The problem with these are the clear plastic bubbles around the piece itself.
E2429219-68D1-4833-8E4F-33D19A5084B6.jpeg
Plastic overtime scratches and discolors so if they’re not properly stored they can start looking crappy because of it. Price point is another factor in these because I believe I have $38 in each of them and while they may show to hold their value, you really at the end of the day gotta get someone to pay you that for it to really be true. Mintage is another thing, I’m not really sure how many were minted but I’m sure there’s quite a few really making them not rare.
1C75B066-A08F-4A37-848F-5EFD567E6EFB.jpeg
In my stacking strategy I’m really leaning on making the least possible headache in the future for myself or The Wee Bear who will get my stack. In a dump situation I’d rather have more ounces than fancy shit that’d I’d need to spend a lot of time on trying to squeeze out premiums that I’ve got into each piece. In my local area pieces like this in my coin shop pretty much sit and collect dust. The buyer in my local coin shop doesn’t really care about what you spent on the piece and more than likely will give a buck over spot for pieces like this. I really would like to encourage each one of you to investigate your local area to see what’s actually liquid and consistently moving in and out of the shops. because let’s be honest, on a spot rise and the some of you that will be taking profits, are you really going to try to piece out individual pieces on places like eBay and such? I would say the majority would not. I find that as easy as stuff sounds in my head, it’s 100 times harder doing that in reality and usually doesn’t work out the way I thought it would😁 So there you have it, as always this is just my opinion and if you differ lest hear about it down below. Thank you for your time, I appreciate it and I’ll see you tomorrow✌🏻

Sort:  

I can see how a weight stacker could have that point of view. However, after you've stacked your 1000th ASE or your 20,000th Roosevelt Dime, bars with a little bit of artistic flair start looking pretty good.

Yeah, that’s why I make my own stuff😁 don’t get me wrong, I’m 100% with you on the boring factor of stacking the same thing. That’s why I started pouring silver to begin with. I wanted stuff that no one else had, stuff I made with my own hands.✌🏻

Some good information right there my friend !!!!!

Ya damn straight gramps!✌🏻

Well Just don't go melting this Pamp down for a pour, if you do I'll offer it a good home first, maybe as your cool Jolly Roger.

I’m not going to melt them, I’ll just not be buying anymore of them. Pieces like these are more of a headache for me because you gotta give them special attention. That’s why I like poured bars. It doesn’t matter if it gets dinged or scratched moving them around where pieces like these the value is destroyed if it is dinged or scratched. It’s hard enough being strategic in my buys....don’t wanna nurse that shit after it’s bought✌🏻

It is funny to know how people are different. You bought two extremely beautiful bars for a high price over spot and you are worried at how you will sell them. Most of my collection is composed of slabbed numismatic coins that I bought with abusive premiums over spot, but I have no worry about selling them. That is because I won't sell them. They are for my grandchildren and this trouble will be theirs. The rest is silver and gold bullion and these I will sell when the price is right.

You went all out back in the day buying everything you saw! You can melt them into somethimg you can charge $40oz for! 😁

😂 yeah, I guess I look back at what I’ve done and realize the foolishness in ny purchases. I think back to when I started stacking watching the “big name dudes” buying this extremely high mintage stuff with huge premiums on YouTube I cannot help but laugh. Just don’t see their strategies working out in the end✌🏻

vfV8tqf.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hey great post! I have some of these also and when I first bought them I thought they were great but then as time went on I realized I can have 2 ounces for the price of one of these. Any type of silver bars or coins or whatever you collect always hold a higher premium when it has packaging or a certificate of authenticity. They are definitely great pieces to have in your collection but if you're going to spend the money why not buy some rare items. Stack on my friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57