Sort:  

Also I actually had a massive list of punk artists. The fact you didn't have to be particularly skilled to start a punk band spawned a shit load of music. So I definitely narrowed it down a lot for this post.

LOL...The movie CBGB proved that!

As a guitarist I am fairly certain I could have someone that has never played guitar playing quite a few punk tunes within a week. Their fingers would still be sore due to not building up the calluses and muscles, but they would be capable of playing it. In fact, I suspect the most difficult thing in the entire lesson would be teaching them to tune their guitar by ear. If they use a device then that isn't even a requirement.

And yes there was some old punk that being in tune was not a requirement either. :)

I am not a punk fan either. I did grow to like The Clash. It happened one day when I listened to Rock the Casbah and paid attention to HOW he sang rather than what he was singing about. Soon I was laughing my ass off. I noticed he sings it that way live too, which makes it impressive as he is intentionally singing out of key and warbling all over and to repeat the performance takes some skill. They are also musically quite a bit more advanced than most punk. As I am having a dialog with someone else they might actually be kind of Progressive Punk. :P

Though yes... I understand, not typically my cup of tea either, but the style was really important to music I love that will be coming up in other posts soon. :)

The video I posted in my comment was one of the early Boston punk bands...The Cars were the house band at a place called Jack's in Cambridge ($1.00 cover) There were a few good bands Susie & the Banshees were ok. Punk evolved like most styles do and groups like the Bogmen (who I really liked)came out. But "mainstream" punk went way downhill.

Yeah I know who "The Cars" were as MTV loved to play the shit out of them when MTV was still music videos all day. :) One style that spun up at the same time was New Wave and some acts kind of were Punk or New Wave or Both. There seemed to be some cross pollination between those genres.

The song by the Modern Lovers was as punk as it got, I think and that song came out in 72...Punk has been around for a while!

Yeah my research seems to indicate The Stooges and Iggy Pop may have done that type of sound first since they came out in 1969.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59231.61
ETH 2996.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78