Mexico City Airport Closure Due to 7.1 Quake (edit updated)

in #mexico-city7 years ago (edited)

I recently had to cancel my flight and vacation to Acapulco due to Houston being smashed by the hurricane. It's hard to complain when so many were hurting and stranded in the city of Houston.

I canceled my vacation package, and re-scheduled to leave the 22nd. I was happy that I was going to be able to finally get my week exploring Acapulco. Now, in sadness, I will cancel again most likely.

(updated, airport re-opens, maybe I will go after all: http://www.businessinsider.com/mexico-city-international-airport-reopens-after-earthquake-2017-9)

Mexico City just suffered another horrible 7.1 quake, just a few days after the 8.1 quake off the coast. So far over 100 are reported dead, the airport suffered damage, and was evacuated.

As disappointed as I am, I cannot be upset. My thoughts and prayers are with the people there in Mexico. They have had a very rough fall season between hurricane weather and earthquakes. I hope the city and people recover soon.

I hope that all Steemians in Mexico are safe. Prayers to you all.

Sort:  

It's so terrible to hear about the earthquake... so much death and destruction.

Wishing well to you and all those affected, I really hope there is adequate aid to start rebuilding soon.

Same here. It's awful that so many people can be affected very quickly due to these natural disasters.

@framelalife I'm sorry to know about how your plans keep getting cancelled, but as you say, there is no way to foresee this and the poor people affected have a lot to work on right now; all the videos released look so scary. That big crack blocking the entrance of the Terminal 2 at the Airport looks crazy...

Also, Mexico's weather is still pretty mild even on late autumn, so I am sure if you visit later in the year you will still get to experience some quality outdoor time. Take care and good luck!

Actually, I am still going! The airport was only closed for a few hours, and it appears most flights are running on schedule. I'm excited to go, despite the earthquakes, hurricanes, and every other scary reason to delay.

I will not be able to do Mexico City and the pyramids this trip, but I will in February. It's also looking like rain most of the days I will be there. Nonetheless, I'm sure I'll finds some fun things to do. If I can try the zipline that goes across the bay, I'll definitely do that, and I plan to visit a Renzo Gracie Academy in Acapulco a few days while I am there. I'm not even sure if they speak english, because they replied in spanish. Google Translate is my friend this trip, and I'll def be working on my spanish between now and February.

More than anything though, I really feel bad for the people in Mexico City, or any other areas affected by the quakes this fall. Mexico has had it rough, and I'm sure there is many more months of recovery before most of them will feel back to normal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71206.07
ETH 3811.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47