6: The “Sweet” Coffee

in #mgsc6 years ago

Tejas met Sapna at a party. She was so beautiful and fabulous, many guys chasing after her … while he so average, typical ‘not so good-looking’ types. Nobody paid attention to him.

During the entire time at the party he kept admiring her and trying to find a way to reach out to her amidst the circle of her friends (almost non interesting and cumbersome). Surprisingly, he promised himself that he would marry her ONLY. This only demonstrates his maturity levels.

Quite late at night, after the party winded up, he finally gathered courage to invite her to have coffee with him. She was surprised, but out of politeness, she promised. She actually didn’t want to stand in one picture frame during that night.

Next day, around 4:00 p.m. they sat in a nice coffee shop, Mocha at Church Gate. He was too nervous to say anything, she felt uncomfortable, waiting for coffee. Twice that nerd visited the washroom rehearsing the dialogues he had prepared to woo her. She kept on thinking, "God, I wanna go home. When shall this end? What if somebody spots me with this scum bag…?”

While at the table, where both were brainstorming ways to stab the silence … their order arrived. He had called for a cappuccino while she had asked for peach-mint iced tea with cheese Panini.

Suddenly, he asked the waiter. "Would you please get me some salt? I'd like to put it in my coffee!" A second later he realized that he had screwed up his date. As only retards would have such a tang.

Stupid of him, he was a little loud (maybe nervous), everybody stared at him, so strange! His face was changing colours, but still, he put the salt in his coffee and drank it. She smiled and asked him curiously, "Are you sure of what are you doing?"

He took a couple of sips and replied, "When I was a little boy, I loved the smell of coffee. But, due to its caffeine contents I was not allowed. I had to cry to get it sometimes and when the flowing tears dropped in my mug, it altered the coffee into salty. It makes me remember my scolding mummy and my best pal my father. I could get it only on special occasions and that too after a lot of tantrums. I miss my parents and my childhood, my old house and my younger sister. And of course, today; as I am with you, is one of the most special days of my life. Sapna, I love you!” while saying this he was about to weep.

She was deeply touched. A man, who can tell out his homesickness, must be a man who loves home, cares about home, and has responsibility of home. Then she also started to speak, spoke about her faraway hometown, her childhood, her family. Thus, the beginning of conversation led to a really great date, and also a beautiful beginning of their story.

They continued to date. She found that actually, he was a man who met all her expectations: he was very humorous and funny at most times, tolerant, kind hearted, warm, and caring. He was such a good man and if it hadn't been for the salt in the coffee, she'd never have really known him!

Soon after a few months, she gave in her consent and tied the knot. It’s been years they have been married now and neighbours haven’t heard noises from their house. It was actually their home. And yes! Every time she made coffee for him, she put some salt in the coffee, just the way he liked it!

After 42 years of marital bliss, Tejas died struggling with a short illness.

One day, she found a letter he had left for her:

"My chwetoo, Please forgive me, but I had lied to you… Only once ... Remember the first time we dated? In a state of anxiety and panic, my brains said sugar; while I blurted out SALT. I was not in a mindset to confess it that I have launched a missile of super nonsense. So I just went ahead. I by no means dreamt that such a disastrous act could bring about an honest and warm exchange of dialogue between the two of us!

Afterwards, in a fear of your reaction to the truth and mistaking me for a cheat or a liar, I couldn’t stitch words. Also, there was a threat, for you to never ever trust me.

At this instant I'm fading in health, and I have realized that our companionship has reached its climax and I have to go first to set up a nice-warm-truthful place for you up there. Genuinely, now I am not frightened of anything and hence, would want to confess: I never did and don't like the salty coffee. As a substance of fact I hate it! What a strange bad taste ... But from the time when you made it for me with so much love, I kept drinking it with cheerful smile all my life! Please forgive me, darling ... for lying to you first in MOCHA and later not making you aware about the fact every time you made coffee for me! I heartily thank you for being my indisputable better half throughout this journey we call life. I ask forgiveness for leaving you now in the concluding phase of living. Tell our stories to our grandchildren apart from religious books, you bore. Even they should know their grand-dad was a lover boy. Hehehe”

With a deep sigh and almost a wet letter she read the final lines:

“I am not lying now when I say, I couldn't have had that coffee any other way!” truly-deeply-madly in love with you … FOREVER"

And now when Tejas and Sapna’s grandchildren ask her:

"Dadi, How did that salted coffee taste?"

She always blushes and replies,

"It's sweet.... You know!"

coffee couple1.jpg

Sort:  

50% is my true story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55