MY INTRODUCTORY POST

in #michael6 years ago

It is often said that-"out of every 10 black men on the face of the earth, a Nigerian is one of them."
image
Hello everyone, I am Afolabi Temitope and I come from a family of five. I am a poet, spoken word artiste, writer and lover of theatre arts. I am in my final year studying Chemistry at tgr Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta.(FUNAAB). My hobbies are singing, writing, travelling and playing video games. I currently reside in Lagos, but I am originally from Oyo,Nigeria.
I am super excited to be part of this wonderful community(steemit) and I hope that I'll get to the level of the "whales" someday.
image
During my early years of performing poetry, I was nervous- this made me an epitome of a block head and I was blank upstairs leaving me in a state of quandary. My best option was to leave the stage , it was an embarrassing moment for me. In the orb of a particular tear, my brother, Richard, encouraged me to deal with agoraphobia (fear of crowd or open spaces). I summoned courage from Ella Fitzgerald's quote which says, "just don't give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there's love and inspiration, I don't think you can go wrong."
In 2014, during the first semester of my final year at the Yaba College of Technology, I participated at the Lagos Theatre Festival-where I had the privilege of performing spoken word before an audience of over one thousand in population. Trust me; I nailed it big time! image
As a Christian, I am planning to organize the first poetry and drama concert tagged night of spoken words within the vicinity of my alma matter. This concept is designed to inform and enlighten the populace about the bible as well as discussing issues confronted by people in the society at large. I and my poetic girlfriend,Oyin,established the Pen on Fire Christian Poem Ministry with the sole purpose of winning souls for Christ. I learnt a great deal from poetry , particularly in promoting peace and creating awareness for the girl child in terms of education and gender equality.
I hope to gain understanding of other's tradition and become a better solution provider in the society.
#LetsSteemTheWorld
#MyIntroductoryPost

Sort:  

Hey @teezyx25, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Tanx a bunch.... I feel at home here

Congratulations @teezyx25! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55