Conviction.

in #microfiction5 years ago


tunnellIMG_20180927_153158019 (1).jpg

‘Life begins at Portal’ we all chanted in unison, hand on heart, as we did every morning at affirmation, and most of us believed it. We believed that Portal was the doorway to destiny, the entry point to the life you deserved, the life of which you had proved yourself worthy. The first 17 years were but a preparation, an opportunity to become the best version of yourself, to gather the precious Portal Points which would determine your future.

No one was certain for what or by whom points were allotted, how they were earned or forfeited, how records were kept or how to access them. We knew only that we must accrue as many points as possible with diligence and obedience before we passed through the portal on our 17th birthday.

There were those who gave credence to rumours that the portal was the entrance to hell or the doorway to death, a mechanism to cull the population, whispers, and speculation which no one could entirely refute. For though so many had passed through the portal, not one had ever returned.

Posted in response to @jayna's microfiction contest

The prompt this week is PORTAL

The image is my own

Sort:  

Oh my goodness this story opens a portal all its own! To many many possibilities, my head is swimming in them. Fabulous work! I'd love to know more.

Cheers for the wonderful comment. It may not be deserved but it's much appreciated.

I agree with previous comments: there needs to be more to this story!!!

Wow, great work, @deirdyweirdy. This one could be expanded. It has novel-length potential! Hugs and thanks for participating in the contest.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much Jayna. You've made my day!

Perchance does the portal look like this?

01-black-hole-a-consensus.adapt.1190.1.jpg

No babe, that's what they call a black hole!

haha! howdy deirdyweirdy! That is a chilling story, I think you should write a longer one about it, turn it into a series, it sounds very intriguing and mysterious. Surely you had more thoughts but had to cut if off for the challenge! Is that photo from your local park? It's pretty cool.

I don't really have that many thoughts Mr. J, thus my very short stories.
Yes, the photo is the Phoenix Park. I thought it looked quite portally.

hahaha! that modesty act don't fool me deirdyweirdy, you're more gifted in writing than that!
But, I do agree that the photo was a perfect choice and very portally looking. lol.

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.773 which ranks you at #5011 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 5014).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 220 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey Partner! I am here and I am bottoms up today. See ya there. : )

Sorry partner, just got in. Starting now. C u centre x

No problem hun! : )

Hi sweetie, I'm on the road again today but hope to join you about 20-30 mins late for deliveries. I'm driving and taking train today and if I manage to catch 3.15 train all will be well. Fingers crossed.

Hi Hun! Thanks for letting me know. Have a safe train ride. : )

Hi babe, made it. back on the train, starting now.

Happy you made it back safely and it was perfect timing. I have to leave for an appointment now. Have a great night hun! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86