My first steem milestonesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #milestone5 years ago

So after about four and a half months of posting on steem I finally managed to get more than 15SP. It took longer than it should have (will go into more detail later in this post) but I learned a lot along the way. 15SP is a milestone because, as a newbie, this was my initial delegation from @partiko and what I quickly learned was that, after every payout my balance stayed at 15 because the delegated steem decreased as I earned. I’m sure most people here know that but it was news to me in the early days!

By the way, if you’re wondering ... I did first create my steem account in September 2017 but I didn’t post any content until January this year. I actually wrote my first #introduceyourself post back then but was too scared to post it!

On steem

Originally when I came to steem I was a little turned off by upvote bots. It seemed to be all about posting quantity not quality to get yourself noticed. It appeared that a lot of upvoting was less about the content, and a lot more about gaming the system and, whilst I still agree with this to a certain degree, I’m more comfortable with it now. After all, steem is effectively created out of thin air but, more importantly, people assign it value. So whatever you think of steem, to a lot of people it’s adding value to their lives. And that is awesome. The vote bots, including schemes like Steem Basic Income (SBI), help all the moving parts tick along and folks here get rewarded and they reward others through their participation in the network, and the more they participate the more they get rewarded. Everyone’s incentives are (more or less) aligned.

Learnings

It’s actually a thing to get paid in steem for your physical activity. Who woulda thought. Yay @actifit!

It’s actually a thing to get paid in steem to pick up other people’s rubbish and put it in the bin. Who woulda thunk it. Woo @cleanplanet!

Unless you don’t want to earn much on steem, DO NOT select the ‘Maximise AFIT Token Earnings’ checkbox when posting via the Actifit wallet. It wasn’t until someone pointed this out my low earnings from Actifit that I bothered to find out what this did that I realised that you’re effectively delegating 90% of your author rewards (correct me if I’m wrong) when you select this option.

I have become more fluent in markdown. Also when posting via the Actifit iOS wallet I’ve learned that one way to guarantee that your pictures don’t get erroneously rotated is to upload private photos to Imgur, copy the image path and input the path with the markdown when posting.

Finding your niche on steem is so rewarding! Currently it’s running. Posting about running has been so awesome for my own running. It’s motivated me to increase my training and get more serious about it.

Thank you

@toofasteddie - this guy randomly found one of my posts about a month ago and decided he liked it so much that he decided to sign me up to SBI and has sponsored me with 1 SBI share each week since. He was also the one who helped with his detective work about my low Actifit earnings. This definitely helped me to get to this milestone quicker.

@cflclosers - this guy posts interesting video content daily. One of his videos was about the exchange of Actifit tokens for bigger upvotes. I knew about this already but it was good to see his videos as a proof of concept, so I decided to do this (required one-time payment of 1 steem - definitely worth it!) as a result. This also helped me to get to this milestone quicker. When I told him that his videos were what made me decide to do this, he kindly gifted me 10 SBI shares. I also really like his ROC>ROI mantra. If you don’t know what that means I urge you to follow him on steem and watch some of his videos.

Everyone else who has read, commented on and upvoted my content. Thank you. You’re a legend.

Onwards and upwards!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hey @mrhill glad you stuck around congrts on the 15 milestone next is 20 SP.

Congratulations on your milestone!
This was the first post I read from you. As a little starter help I delegated 50 SP to you =) It's not much but I haven't got a ton myself.

Thank you. That is very kind.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks for the shout out. I'm glad I could be of service to you in one of my videos. Keep it up!

It’s actually a thing to get paid in steem to pick up other people’s rubbish and put it in the bin. Who woulda thunk it. Woo @cleanplanet!

Who would be collecting our garbage without a State? Hummm... I am wondering who would be doing it.... I would expect corporations selected voluntarily by the citizens to do that task, but voluntary people doing it would also work; yeah, I know it is not the same to clean dirty places than collecting garbage, but it is a first step in getting people used that State is useless and very expensive and inefficient.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 31.92% upvote from us for your 6430 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thanks for the mention and congrats for this first milestone

Well done mate, Maximize Afit tokens convert's you steem earnings to Afit tokens.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I’ve appreciated all your upvotes and comments and fungi posts and love for VW T3s :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations on this milestone!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations for earning 15 SP in 4 months!
How many AFIT do you also own?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks. I have 1787 afit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97