You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindful LIfe Monday - How Soon is Now?

in #mindfullife5 years ago

One of the things that interests me is the definition of "what a moment is" - how long does it last?

Now is a constantly transient thing. We can definitely control the future. We look both ways before we cross the street. If we didn't, we could die a dozen times a day.

Sort:  

That's a great question @holoz0r. It is one of the hardest things to break down and give a good definition for. Personally, I break it down to a task or the activity going on. If you want you can break it down more and sometimes I do. One of the best ways I know to present it is like this. This morning actually, I was getting a cup of coffee and noticed my husband left the butter out and his knife. I made a comment (since I was by myself at that time) 'gee can't you just pick up after yourself?.' I stopped and said to myself, 'We're not going down that road, the comment was unnecessary.' I rinsed off the knife put it in the sink and put the butter in the fridge. It's done and gone. That to me was a moment. You can see where you can break it down more. Some say my thought was a moment. That whole scenario was 2 minutes at the most. Yet if you play a game with your family that to me is a moment, even though a game can last a few hours. It ultimately is what you feel it is.

In a way we can control the future to a point. What decisions we make set us on a path. It's things like an untimely death, losing your job, getting sick, these thing are out of our control. To worry and dwell on those aspects that prevent some people from living. The unknown scares them. However, many would consider crossing a road as a moment not a future. You still have the unknown factor you can't control. Someone, texting, spilled their drink on their lap, or even a tiny spider dropped on them.
Now that I probably confused the hell out of you LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66