You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benefits of Creating a Special Spot for Meditating...

In Thailand there are meditation spots everywhere... and many, many homes have them. That said, they are a middle & upper class luxury. The longer I meditate, the LESS I want my own spot.... and prefer to simply BE wherever I am, and mostly now that is outside, in nature. After a decade or more of having a meditation spot, altar and a special meditation room, I have dismantled it all. In Thailand the "real" & (often considered strong) monks are itinerant jungle monks and are not connected to any place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about other parts of the world! That's excellent that you feel strong enough to not have a need for a particular spot for meditating. I still find it beneficial to have a dedicated spot for meditating for I find it easier to turn my mind to meditating and I also find it makes for stronger sittings when I have no distractions.
Yes, I have heard of the jungle monks and my husband has a friend who was a jungle monk for awhile and he often thinks of returning to that life but he is getting older now and would find it quite difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74