How does everyone feel about the new changes to the wallet?

in #mindset5 years ago (edited)


e-learning-1367416__340.jpg

I was blindsided when I logged on the other day and my wallet didn't work, I tried before they added the message in the blue bar that linked to the thread explaining what was going on. I thought it could have been someones idea of an April fools joke being played out a few days late.

So I read through the thread and several people were quite upset by the changes, others thought it was good and others were just searching for answers on how to use the new system. My personal biggest annoyance with software is when the devs "fix" something and add layers of complexity that just don't need to be there so it really pissed me off. This was possibly the worst instance I've ever seen where devs have meddled with something that just didn't need to be fixed. If it's not broken - DON'T FUCKING FIX IT.

One thing that really annoyed me was that towards the end of the thread linked to the "Important Changes to Steemit.com and Wallet, click here" https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/social-condenser-is-live thread seems to have been demonetised, several people have voted for it (including myself) and their comment has zero value. My vote is worth a feeble 1 cent but it didn't register a value when I upvoted that comment. Is this some sort corporate despotism revealing itself where the PTB can decide to rescind votes people have left in good faith?

I can't live with any of these new changes (getting in bed with google in annoyed me just as much) so I'm taking my menial little cache of pesos and leaving. In my mind they've completely lost the vision they had when I joined and have become exactly like any other corporate structure. It's mind over matter - they don't mind and we don't matter.

I keep my key securely stored offsite, so for me to just enter my master password involved a drive, an appointment and visit to a secure lock box. What a royal pain in the arse.

Anyway today I went to send a memo to another member & I find they've fucked that up too. I tried six ways from Sunday to reveal my memo key (the only one I didn't bother to safely back up as I didn't see the importance) and there was no way to do it, my master key and posting are visible but clicking reveal on the memo key generates a dialogue box that wants me to log in with my master key and after I do that my memo key is still hidden.

Typically when I get fucked around by non functional software I just say fuck it and never use it again which is exactly what I plan to do. I wouldn't trust these clowns to run a chook raffle, let alone manage a sever with millions of dollars tied up to it.

So anyway, sorry @bobaphet it seems like I can't even send you a memo the way they've geared it all now so I can't give you my contact details.

image source - https://www.clipartof.com/gallery/clipart/confused.html

Sort:  

I feel like playing Steem Monsters is one of the few things keeping me around here. You'll notice all my posts are now SM related. Well if this is the end, live long and prosper.

My son stopped playing Steem Monsters Mike and my daughter stopped posting too, kids just aren't interested in this platform which reads like writing on the wall to me. I joined with a group of six other people and they've all left too. It gets a bit disheartening when you take the time to write a post or comment and see no return for it and someone makes a three word comment and their comment earns more than your post.

The ads are what annoy me the most, they are making big money from the site and little fish are getting shafted. There's no disclosure on the details of how that advertising revenue is being sliced up but when push comes to shove corporations are cashing in from my content and I don't get a slice.

In the thread linked to the notification in the blue message bar about the wallet there's a post by @kerrywolf that has been censored and demonetised so it's becoming like youtube instagram and twitter, if you don't censor yourself they will do it for you and block any payout. The whole system is a fraud.

Anyway I'll miss reading your posts, all the best for the future Mike.

I'm not really in this for the rewards so it doesn't bother me. In fact, I'm having a great time! Tons of fun in this game.

bernie foff.png

Mind including the link you mentioned? I can't keep them straight. lol

Yeah here's the link here
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/social-condenser-is-live
Your comment is right at the bottom of the page. I don't know why it's been flagged, it seemed like an innocuous comment to me.

Been nice having you here sorry to see you leaving though you have to do what you need to do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @khufu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97