Easy road? Nah...

in #mindset5 years ago (edited)

About 4 years ago I was presented with a choice for the next 5 to 10 years. I ended up choosing to take the hard road, one I knew would be really difficult. I couldn't imagine it would basically put my life in an excruciating pause, disconnected from the world as I always knew it like it did though. I've regretted that decision countless times since 4 years ago. It will be over in about 3 years and most of the times, I still can't see the finish line.

But despite everything, I am quite sure 10, 20, 30 years from now it will have been worth it. And above all, I'm sure I will be proud instead of looking back and feeling like a failure for taking the easy path out of fear or comfort seeking.

Staying in your comfort zone because you've considered the pros and cons and it's the right thing to do is a smart move. Staying there because of fear is not, and it will be the thing you will most regret one day when you're old. It can be difficult to understand the difference, but that introspection is more than worth it.

You see, about 2 years ago, I changed roads. I had to. I was on the wrong path, despite being on a difficult one. But I didn't change to the easy one. I looked at it, I evaluated the possibility, it felt tempting. I looked at myself and saw how burned out I was. Despite feeling the temptation of using the logical need for change as an excuse to jump back to the easy one, I switched roads, but chose an equally hard one! Believe me, I was over the burnout line, but I would not recognize myself walking the easy path.

Remember, generally speaking, if you do what's easy, your life's gonna be hard; if you do what's hard, your life's gonna be easy.

Stay strong! ;)

off-road-2915957_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughts. Life is just a series of random events linked to each other. When we don't like the way we're heading, changing something is the best option.

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal

Congratulations @ultra9k! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50