The Elf sorceress. Yet another Evil hippie miniature.

in #miniatures6 years ago

Those of you that follow me have probably seen this miniature before, in my lightbox post

it is a rehash of the first sorceress I made. using the same body, but new head and hair. Some of the clothes also changed.

Here is a turntable animation of the 3d model. It starts with showing the mesh, to give an impression of how many(or few) triangles are necessary. notice the highly irregular mesh, this is the result of sculpting the mesh and then running a decimate operation which selectively collaps edges based on their curvature (or lack thereof)
That means that the mesh will retain the details where it is needed, while keeping the overall triangle count low. Too many triangles will slow down the slicer when I want to print it.

I uploaded the model to Shapeways in case someone should want to get their own copy. you can find it HERE dont forget to use the referal code W1HTH for a 15% discount, if you are a new user.

if not you can just enjoy a few more images of the actual print from different angles below

I printed this one on my wanhao duplicator 7 version 1.5 it is sliced with 50 micron layer height
This particular build is printed completely without supports. the long sleeves make sure the arms are supported and those were the only points that needed supports on the original sorceress.

If you are interested in in 3dprint, but arent sure if you want to dish out the 700 euros (or thereabouts) for a cheap printer , or even more if you want to go for something a bit more solid, Shapeways is a great way to test the quality of different print techniques.

Obviously their printers are industrial quality so they might not be 1-1 comparable with what you will be able to get at home, but it will give you an idea of resolution that is difficult to see from images, even supercloseups like these.
If you do, be sure to drop me a like on Evil Hippie Design.
As always if you have ideas for what I should make next I would be happy to comply and add it to my growing todo list


Thanks for reading this. Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem.
If this post is more than 7 days old , consider upvoting one of my newer posts instead.
or you can check out these recent posts

github-ono
shapeways debut
lightbox
outdoors
Work in progress
Saucyress

Sort:  

This is very very cool. So close to getting a Resin printer.

I do my best to tempt you :-) actually I have done some research into printing miniatures on an fdm , and apparently some people get really nice results. Not the same quality as a resin print but passable for tabletop use. I am putting together a post on my research and experiments

fused deposition modelling. just a fancy abbreviation for filament printing :-)

I've checked some blogs about this as well. Tried with the profile .... did not do it for me .... ergo resin printer ... drooling over the anycubic photon ...

It's great to see the miniature from the digital model to the finished painting.

Very beautiful pose and details.:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98