[$10 prize] Mini Crypto Challenge #3 - old rock edition

in #minicryptochallenge7 years ago (edited)

Paging all code breakers, puzzle fans, sleuths, hackers, smart-asses, wise guys and other smart alecks!

Part three of the Mini Crypto Challenge — inspired by @timsaid's Steemit Crypto Challenge — is finally here (with apologies for the delay).

Mini Crypto Challenge #3

Today's challenge is very straight forward. My badly written poem ends in a question that needs to be answered. Answer it.

The rules:

  • The first person to post the correct solution as a comment to this post is the winner of $10 SBD
  • Use any means necessary to decipher the hints and find the solution
  • Posting clues, hunches and wild guesses is encouraged and will be rewarded
  • Liquid reward on this post goes directly to the prize pool of the next challenge
  • Have fun!

The challenge

My journey starts thirty five years to the day
Since Anarchy spread all throughout UK

Three-and-a-half-hundred miles I was launched
To where David Bowie's arachnids had spawned

The day I arrived I remember quite well
Sixteen years after Gabba Hey's farewell

My purpose to find if there's blue in this red
Was Marilyn right? Is this Rock really Dead?

And though made undone by what Jagger can't get
I'm sorry my name may have murdered your cat

Each time I complete my ellipse 'round the Sun
Tell me what tune do I no longer hum?

The hints

None, this time.

Sort:  

hmm...... Curiosity?

Because it killed the cat?

Of course... cats are curious sometimes. And David Bowie had an album "The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars". Also "My purpose to find if there's blue in this red
... Is this Rock really Dead?" refers to mars exploration. Or is it the last question "Tell me what tune do I no longer hum?" that I have to answer explicitly?

Also, there is a proverb "Curiosity killed the cat but satisfaction brought it back" (and Mick Jagger sung I Can't Get No Satisfaction). The rest of it is spot on!

But yes, it's the question in the final sentence that needs to be answered.

The Rolling Stones? Or Keith Richards?

Because Sex Pistols' Anarchy In The UK was in 1976 or 1977 and 35 years from that was when Mars Curiosity Rover was born. Gabba Gabba Hey was a popular phrase in The Ramones' song Pinhead. The Ramones disbanded in 1996, so 16 years from that, is 2011 as well. Marilyn Manson sang a song on Mars is dead. Mick Jagger's song on Satisfaction had curiosity in it and since it killed the cat, the name must be Mars' Curiosity Rover. Ellipse around the sun is the orbit. I'm guessing it's Mars' orbit but Earth's orbit made more sense in my answer. It sings a Happy Birthday song each year but no one listens.

Or maybe because it's almost 2 years, there's no Bday song?

Oops! You're completely right, I mixed up earth years and Mars years 😁

Happy Birthday was the correct answer, Curiosity only sang it once to himself but never again after it's first birthday. Announcement and payout will come later today! Congratulations 😃🎉

Birthday song?

I feel like im getting close yet so far

Wow awesome job so far

You're really close, but you haven't answered the question yet :)

Is it the last question "Tell me what tune do I no longer hum?" that I have to answer explicitly?

That's right

Ok here it is.... I have no f*** idea. :D I know that some parts are not working anymore, like the drill. So maybe it's the tune of the drill. :P But what does that have to do with the surroundings of the sun? I give up... curious to see the answer. Nice riddle.... did you came up with it yourself?

No worries, maybe you'll get a flash of inspiration, otherwise you at least paved the way for someone else to solve it. As usual you've already earned a reward by coming this far.

Ah i'll check

Hit me with your best shot!

My sentence got cut short. I'

I think it got cut short again D:

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Phtephan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

The Rolling Stones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73