[Winner & Answer] Mini Crypto Challenge #3 - Congratulations again, @howtostartablog!

Yikes, I really have to make these challenges a little more uhm.. challenging? Again it only took about two hours before the Mini Crypto Challenge was solved. I guess winning challenge #1 wasn't enough for @howtostartablog, because he just did it again!

Well done, and congratulations! Your prize is a Mars bar:

He couldn't have done it so fast without @mkt figuring out the main clue, so props and a small reward to him as well. Let's say a mini mars bar?

Anyway, here's the complete solution:

Challenge & solution

The challenge was a quite mediocre poem filled with references to old rock/punk bands, which was supposed to get you guys to figure out that I was talking about the Mars-exploring Curiosity rover. It ended in a question that needed to be answered. Here's the breakdown:

My journey starts thirty five years to the day
Since Anarchy spread all throughout UK

The album Anarchy in the UK by the Sex Pistols was released on November 26, 1976. On that same date in 2011 the Mars-exploring Curiosity rover was launched into space.

Three-and-a-half-hundred miles I was launched
To where David Bowie's arachnids had spawned

Mars is located 350 miles away from Earth (give or take). The second line refers to David Bowie's album Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars.

The day I arrived I remember quite well
Sixteen years after Gabba Hey's farewell

Curiosity landed on Mars on August 6, 2012. On that exact date in 1996 the Ramones (whose slogan was Gabba Gabba Hey) played their final farewell concert.

My purpose to find if there's blue in this red
Was Marilyn right? Is this Rock really Dead?

Among Curiosity's purposes was to find water on Mars. The second line is a reference to Marilyn Manson's song Rock is Dead. I admit it wasn't the strongest reference in the challenge.

And though made undone by what Jagger can't get
I'm sorry my name may have murdered your cat

A reference to the proverd "Curiosity killed the cat but satisfaction brought it back". The Rolling Stones (whose singer is Mick Jagger) have a song called (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction.

Each time I complete my ellipse 'round the Sun
Tell me what tune do I no longer hum?

Here I done goofed, but thankfully @howtostartablog realised my mistake and forgave me for it. I was referring to Curiosity's birthday (which would occur every time Earth completes its path around the sun, not Mars, which has a much longer year).

The answer to the question in the last line is "Happy Birthday", which Curiosity sang to itself on its first birthday but never since, as can be read right here

The solution

Each verse except the last contained a hint towards

The rewards

@howtostartablog wins $10 for providing the correct answer, and @mkt receives $5 for knowing his classics and providing the Curiosity clue. Use it wisely! And by that I mean spend it on more Mars bars, of course.


Thanks again for playing everyone! Stay tuned for Mini Crypto Challenge #4, which may or may not be as easy as today's one.

Sort:  

Woots, thanks again for providing a crypto challenge! I have a lot of fun each week!

Thanks for honoring me and congratulations to @howtostartablog! :)

But wait... what?

Mars is located 350 miles away from Earth

Well... I guess you forgot a word there? :P
For comparison: It's 2914 Miles from San Francisco to New York City.

Ehh... 😰

In fact, I forgot it both in this post and the original challenge. I'm afraid I suffered a rather severe case of asdfg today.

reminds self to proof-read even more next time

My rule of thumb: 1h writing, 2h proof-reading... and changing shit over and over again :D

Yeah, I generally spend more time reading and fixing my post than writing it, but I guess today just wasn't my day.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Phtephan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @pilcrow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68