Decluttering

in #minimalism6 years ago (edited)

Decluttering

sans-titre.png

(Picture source)

As I told you in my previous article, I take advantage of my week off to put order in the house, mainly in places that I leave abandoned for lack of time but that slow down and rot my daily.
My laundry for example, where I have my washing machines, dryers, fridge and freezer more shelves with food and perpetual mess, there is always a clothesline lying on the ground, a shopping bag to empty , biscuits overflowing shelves, ...

I just put it away and to do that, I evacuate objects and things that have nothing to do there and I squash things that I never use, like old ones pans that I keep in case ... but there is never an opportunity to use them.
In doing so, I clear my shelves and I can put on things that usually hang in the middle of my laundry.

I once saw a show where people even hired storage professionals to help them tidy up their homes so they were overburdened and overwhelmed by the tidying up business they had stored. Apparently, it's a full-fledged profession now ; o)

I once read a book called the art of getting rid of the superfluous and keeping only the essentials. I think it's a very good thing because the more we have useless things in our house the more we have a mess and the more we feel oppressed by all these things (see also https://steemit.com/health/@lndesta120282/feng-shui).

How to proceed ?

step-1-consultation-embarrased-mess-c-w1200.gif

(Picture source)

You have to be psychologically prepared to do some great cleaning, not like my children who when I tell them we will put away your rooms and give old toys to the unfortunate they do not want to take anything away ...

You have to take your time and do one piece at a time, it is useless to set a goal too great style I will tidy the whole house in one weekend otherwise we risk rushing the sort to accelerate the thing and have finished before getting back to work.

We can start with a drawer, a shelf, a wardrobe ... It's a waterfall, the storage of one place will lead to the reorganization of another by the place won in the first and so on. Personally, as in my work where I have a thousand and one things to do at the same time, I do to to list, it helps me organize my days of storage and barring as and what I did I see my progress.

  • When hesitating to get rid of an object, you have to ask the right questions:
  • What value does this object really have in my eyes?
  • How is it useful? Useless? What does it bring me to have it?
  • What does it cost me to keep it?

To get rid of superfluous objects, do not hesitate to ask around if it can serve. Personally, I have the Emmaus association at 500 meters from home so it's convenient, I do not throw objects and I know they will serve other people, which makes it easy to get rid of easier, we know that we do not throw them and that they will have a second life, it is less brutal than the trash.

There are also a lot of used sales sites or donations on the Internet, that's not missing. There is also family and colleagues that might be interesting. I remember a device to make homemade fries that I never used, I gave it to my colleague and she uses it at least once a week, it made her happy and me it got rid.

(Text source)

Tips

Decluttering Saying.jpg

(Picture source)

Be careful, however, to be careful not to be dragged by a frenzy of storage and get rid of a useful thing that you should buy later it would be silly. My mother-in-law did that, she threw a garlic press and then realized that eventually she still needed it quite regularly, so she had to buy one ...

The goal of decluttering is to spend less time in the materialistic world, devoting more time, energy and effort to nurturing our social bonds, creating memories together, helping and serving the community, being creative and simply live better.

There is no standard model of decluttering, everything depends on his personality, his place of life and its inhabitants. His goal is to relieve us of stress and anxiety caused by too many objects.

One thing at a time

If you are drowning in the mess, start with a small area of your home that bothers you most every day.
Personally, it's stupid and very small but I will start with my handbag, there are always 4, 5 pens, tickets, shopping lists, little toys of my children, 3.4 packs of tissues ( I still have a lot to miss.) In short, when I have to take my wallet or keys, it's really not easy.

Sentimental value ?

If you keep objects that only clutter you because they have sentimental value but you do not want to keep, why not make a souvenir photo?

I saw a report one day about a mother who took all the drawings and crafts of her children before throwing them, it's a great idea, must still have the courage to do so. Indeed, having two little boys who spend their time drawing and tinkering and given that I do not have the heart to throw their works of art, I am drowned by the papers and other pieces of cardboard, I put everything in a box that I go up to the attic, suddenly the attic overflows more and more ...

Also added are the various gifts received by loved ones that we do not necessarily like but that we keep because they have a sentimental value. It usually ends in a crate or drawer ...

Do not compare

We always need to compare what we have with our friends, family, ... We tend to feel fulfilled if we have the same thing as them or more things than them. If we have less, we tend to feel frustrated.

Instead of looking at what everyone else is doing, do this experiment. Remove the Facebook application from your phone for 30 days, run away from malls and magazines. Ask yourself what you need. Chances are there will not be much after this experience.

Watch out for online orders

After putting all your purchases frantically in your basket and before proceeding to order and payment, take a break of a few hours if there are specials that you can not miss or a few days if it is not urgent.
Most of the time, you would probably forget that you chose these elements and realize then that you never really needed them in the first place. You can also apply this concept when you shop, leave the object of your temptation and take it back at the end of your shopping, unless in the meantime you have changed your mind and realized that in fact you do not really need it. Or that you already have 5 little black dresses in your dressing room and so a sixth is really not necessary.

Here, I hope that these tips and ideas will allow you to rearrange and lighten your interior to feel less stressed, less anxious and lighter.

(Text source)

Sort:  

Thank you for all these great ideas! It is best to leave the item when shopping and then come back to it if really needed! And also wait a while for better deals online and figure out whether it is something you really need in the first place! Great advice! Thanks for sharing!

you bring absolutely correct advice and back them up with cases and situations from life, I think this is the most excellent way to convey your thoughts ...
in addition to all of the above, I will say that I absolutely agree with you. Throwing out old things is the best way to rid your house of excess rubbish, bad energy and memories. There are people, even among my friends who are mentally inclined to accumulate old things and can not part with them, that's what I consider the problem.
Thanks for the chic article :)

I am interested in your ideas and your insights, your post is very good and interesting, I had time to think like you in making post, your post is clearly accurate and clear meaning, I guided you from want to be the best like you, I am amazed to you, I am amazed dengab jepinteran you hopefully you continue to make and develop your logic and skill in making post, thank 😘

Thank you 😘

Decluttering your environment, declutters your mind.

t is about spending your time productively..
It is about making you think from a different perspective..

super article

Very good and timely post. I am working diligently on getting rid of clutter but it is very hard work mentally and emotionally. So many decisions and I am the only one that can decide. I am vowing to never have this much "stuff" ever again.

your post is amazing,
I will look forward to your next post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81