ASUS teams up with Quantum Cloud mining

in #mining5 years ago


I remember a few years ago when Ethereum was hovering around $1 and I was on the gaming subreddits of Reddit telling people that they could easily put their GPU's to good use when they aren't using them by mining cryptocurrencies. Of course not many did take it serious or didn't want their hardware to suffer wear and tear from mining useless imaginary internet points.

With QuantumCloud gamers are now able to easily download a software that let's you mine crypto's with one click. It also offers an easy gateway to Paypal for withdrawals and now with Coinbase allowing Paypal withdrawals and hopefully deposits soon as well it could be a nice thing to have on when you aren't using your GPU.

Here's some other things that apply to QuantumCloud taken from their website:

GPU mining is much more accessible for most people than ASIC mining that Bitcoin and some other crypto's share the algo with. It's not as accessible as CPU's and there are some coins that are CPU only mined combined with miners for that but this partnership with ASUS is in the right direction. I am not sure if they offer a way to directly withdraw crypto instead for us here who are already introduced to them and know how to use them and maybe would be interested to turn their mining efforts into Steem, but Paypal is a good start.

At this time the daily revenue from mining with one GeForce GTX 1080ti is around $0.40 per 24 hours. This may not sound like a lot but depending on what coins you're holding (imagine that would've been 0.4 ETH a few years ago) it could be worth the risk of needing a new GPU sooner than expected - let's face it though technology is improving faster than we can anticipate anyway and your GPU's may feel old before you'd like to retire them.


Sort:  

I'm going to look into this. If I can redeem the crypto, then I'm interested. As is....24 hrs will probably cost $0.50 or more worth of electricity.

I am wondering if this drop in price has opened the market on used mining rigs...to pick some up pretty cheap. But....I need to find a cheap source of electricity!!!

Hope you are well my friend,
Peace

Yeah I'm guessing it's kind of an investment from the electricity costs that's why I'd prefer people keep it in crypto they believe will go up in value than in Paypal which they'd use to pay for the electricity to begin with. ^^

I'm doing okay, how about you? Been a while.

I just opened my first exchange account. Trying to buy in at these prices. None of my previous contacts are interested in selling at these prices.

I've been okay, but not great. For over a year now I have been trying to figure out what I'm going to do next....since my previous efforts had been stopped/derailed. And I havent found my calling...so....mostly just frustration. :-/

Steemit has been a good distraction...but I don't have the focus to Post much or regularly.

I'm not sure if GPU mining Ether will ever come back, POS is on the horizon. Mining is definetely not worth 40 cents a day or whatever you will get at these prices, once you factor in electricity, taxes, exchange fees, time, wear and tear on your machine and the environmental impact of running all these processors. If you live in a cold climate and have free electricity the return is only slightly better. Most people who can afford these machines and spend significant time gaming would be better off spending more time upgrading their skills and working.

Yea. Well..
The question is just what to mine?
And european electricity costs make it unprofitable.

Posted using Partiko Android

This would have been a nice way to use my laptop when not been used, but then its a laptop not a desktop and possibility of getting breakdown after few hours in high, with the current low spec it came with.

Nice info, should come handy for those in the mining business or just looking to relocate certain computing power when not been used

only for windows....... maybe Mac will come later or sooner

I have recently read that the price of equipment has come down due to the bear market which has given me a renewed interest in acquiring some and setting it up to mine. However, I am not very technical and not sure how to even start... I have to put this on my research list!

Posted using Partiko iOS

$0.40 per 24 hours.

Nice utilization of idle GPU. But gaming on Steam for a few hours and selling those useless achievement cards away probably could earn more.

very interesting...
how much of a cut do they take?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10