Mining Is NOT Cool

in #mining6 years ago

I ordered my first two S9 miners from Bitmain.com last year, July 2017. I received them in September. Shortly after, I ordered another 6 to add to my collection. When the T9 went up for sale I bought two, bringing my total units up to 10 and hashing around 130 Th/s. I bought 4 L3+ in November and just ordered 10 more last week.

Needless to say, I am becoming addicted to mining and am heavily invested now. I enjoy the fact that they are producing an income or delivering crypto at a discounted rate. My electricity bill is a fixed cost, for the most part. The price of the coins appreciate. Difficulty is a factor as it keeps rising.

The purpose of this writing is to document or show what I am doing now to fight the battle of keeping them cool through the summer months. I had the miners split up through the winter. The eight S9's were in my unheated garage all winter and ran very well. When it was 0 degrees Fahrenheit outside, it was about 60 in the garage. Cooling was not a problem. It is much warmer now, in the 80's, and was very concerned how I was going to keep these babies cool.

My 4 L3+ and the 2 T9's are in an unoccupied two bedroom house. I wanted to move them all into this house to have a central location and only one bill. My problem was it would definitely get way too hot in there. The S9's run much hotter than L3+ or the T9's. Both bedrooms are on the same side of the house and both have a window facing the same direction. My thought was to build a "dead" space in each bedroom, 2' off the outside wall, in which the rear end of the miners would exhaust into and have a powerful exhaust fan pulling the hot air outside.

I used 2x4 framing 2' on center. 1/2" osb sheathing on the miner side and 1/2" foam in between the studs on the "dead" space side. Installed regular wire shelving (typically seen in a closet), from Home Depot to hold the miners and psu's. I have two shelves on each wall. A 5"x5" square hole cut through the osb and foam for a nice snug fit for the back of the miners. I removed the window in each bedroom and framed in for a 30" louvered exhaust fan. I used 1 1/2" plastic conduit attached to the adjacent wall to run the data lines through to the switch.

So far this is working well. I have not used the central air yet. I don't even think it would help anyway with all the outside air coming in. The miners are running around 70 Fahrenheit and it was 85 outside.

Well, I am not sure how to put my pictures on here but here is the shared link to them.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8mLn6YPAN7uQjhCd3RXSXpuWVNGenVSaHh6ZTdHUlhHWTJV

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8mLn6YPAN7uWU5UMmU2STNOSUI2OVFYVXEyT3Z0LWh0OWpr

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8mLn6YPAN7uM2V2OExaWl94ZGZ5MTNBNU8tVkg2V1pIVVow

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8mLn6YPAN7uTFpFVW9TWlphM1lVbWxzYm54QndYa3RsTUJr

I will keep posting updates as the summer progresses and let you know how this is working for me. This is a learning experience for me, I am no expert. Any suggestions would be welcomed. If you have questions about mining, I may be able to help answer them.

My total cost for materials and equipment for this project totaled about $900 USD. The exhaust fans being the most expensive parts. I found them used for about $260 each on amazon but one was damaged. I bought a brand new one for $520, unfortunately there were no more used ones available.

Thank you in advance for stopping to read about my journey, I hope it helps yours!

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldkeys! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you @Steemitboard and the others who upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81