Mining and the upcoming Hard Fork

in #mining8 years ago (edited)

So, as some of you might know, there is a Hard Fork (HF) scheduled for this coming Tuesday the 26th for Steem. For any normal user, this is not an issue and all will continue to function as normal.

HOWEVER - me, being a newbie to Steem, have been considering mining Steem. I have been looking at the posts on Steemit and found the Mining for Dummies post that explained how to mine Steem on an Ubuntu virtual machine.

My project for this weekend will be to complete the mining setup to see how effective my rig will be for mining Steem.

The question I now have for @dan , @ned and any of the other Steem experts is the following:

Would I need to change anything on Tuesday, if I have completed my Steem mining setup over the coming weekend?

I assume I would need to make changes, so that I would be mining on the new fork and not on the old fork?

I am sure I am not the only one with this question. Any assistance from the community would be much appreciated. please post with your hints, tips and advice. Thank you very much.

/off to start boiling the kettle to get more STEEM :-)

Sort:  

Great, and my post goes unnoticed and unloved, while all kinds of other crap goes trending... go figure...

Can't even get an answer from any of the more experienced Steem people. Don't worry, I'll figure it out on my own.

Wow, come on guys, SOMEBODY out there must be able to help?

I'm guessing that the people who are mining STEEM don't want any competition.

wow, thanks for your reply! :)

Yeah, maybe. But it is actually GOOD for the network to be decentralised. They would WANT more miners, it strengthens the network.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69093.99
ETH 3768.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44