ETC Mining Ethereum Classic - The Rig - The Config & The payouts

in #mining6 years ago (edited)

The Cost and The Payouts

I have been mining Ethererum Classic for about 8 months now. At today's prices my payout is almost $3000.00 with 94.295 $ETC mined. So after hardware cost and power consumption I am up about $1800.00 profit over those 8 months.

Boiling down the profits and how I got there.

Mined So FarMy Hash Rate
mined.PNGmined2.PNG
When I first started back in March of 2017 I was getting about 1 $ETC every 10 hours @ 67.7 mh. The difficulty level has increased to where I am getting 1 $ETC now every 67 to 70 hours. This will gradually increase.This side shows my current hash rate and has some stats on it like the current BTC exchange rate and the average USD exchange rate for $ETC. It also shows that total profit you may expect over a period of time.

Software shown above is from Google Play Store

The Hardware and Software I Am Using

I am using 3 AMD Sapphire GPU's. Two are R9 290 cards and 1 R9 280X. I bought these on ebay for about $150 each. The MB is an ASRock Z87 Killer Motherboard with 3 PCI16 slots and 4 PCIe slots I got for about $230, mine including an i7 CPU and 16GB RAM. In order to have the GPU's detached from the motherboard you will need some $5.00 USB 3.0 PCI-E Express 1x To 16x Extender Riser Cards . You will also want a good power supply, I have the EVGA 1000 Modular PSU.
If you watch the auctions like a hawk you can still get all this hardware for low prices but they are becoming more difficult to find with crypto mining becoming more popular. I am also using a windows 7 operating system with the Claymore 10 Dual Ethereum Miner software daemon.

The FrankenMiner 👺

Rig pic 1Rig pic 2
rig1.PNGrig2.PNG

My rig is an out of the box desktop, literally it is a FrankenMiner 👺,but it gets the job done with all 3 cards I am getting in -mode 1 a combined Hashrate of about 58mh. This average down some form the original 67.7 in -mode 2, Dual Mining, I started with back in march.

GPU 0 is the R9 280x the ones hashing at 23x are my R9 290s
hashing_away.PNG

The Mining Pool and The Config File

I have been using the etc.ethermine.or mining pool from the beginning. You may notice that my current config below includes a variable -mode 1, this disables dual mining and only lets the software mine Ethereum Classic. If this is set to -mode 0, then it will mine Ethereum Classic and Siacoin. I ran with it in dual mode until the production rate got to about 50 hours per $ETC. At tht production rate I finally turned it off, -mode 1, so only one miner was running. This increased my Ethereum Hashrate by bout 5mh per round.

I have included my current running config file below so you can get an idea of how it is setup for Claymore 10 Dual Ethereum Miner miner.

Claymore Dual Ethereum Miner Comnfig .bat file

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
C:\claymore10\EthDcrMiner64.exe -mode 1 -esm 1 -epool us1-etc.ethermine.org:4444 -erate 0 -ewal 0x8E84B20E00ea647A550DfA8C75F1e9F8cA805B39.qht3 -epsw x -dpool stratum+tcp://hub.miningpoolhub.com:20550 -dwal libertyranger.qht3 -dpsw x -dcoin sc

Happy Mining

Just my two STEEMS Worth.Steemerica_mini.JPG Steemerica_mini.JPG
Vote LibertyRanger as your Witness or Set Proxy.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses URL address then scroll down to Vote.

Or you may simply follow this link and click the Continue button to confirm your vote.
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=libertyranger&approve=1
Please follow me @LibertyRanger, Vote Up and Resteem
Thank you,
@LibertyRanger

NOTE: I always upvote same day comments.

This work is free for any use with attribution under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY) License.

Sort:  

You got a 21.54% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @libertyranger!

How much noise does that make ?

It's not too bad but I have it out in my garage so the sound and the heat are not an issue. As a matter of fact I can heat the better part of the garage with just those three GPU's running. But I also have in that same room three more computers. 2 are mining Monero and one is a dual node server I am currently building out as a STEEM SEED server and my backup Witness server.

But I am going to have to wait to deploy them both for production. I was not happy with the performance so I ordered the fastest CPU's those dual boards will take, 3.4 GHz Woodcrest and a better performing ECC DDR2 RAM.

so my SEED and Witness servers won't be racked until end of the first week in Feburary. (sad face)

Please help fold me...

Very interesting. Been thinking that setting up a mining rig would make a lot of sense. My basement is always cool so the heat wouldn't be an issue.

Do you know what your electric rates are to be running this profit?

I'm in for about an extra $33.00 electric a month on average.
I am running 525 WATTS with the monitor turned off at $0.089 $kWh
Here is the calculator I use

That is very close to my rates unless I want to lock in the price for longer terms and then I can drive it down to about 6.9 cents per kWh. Never seems worth it to me, but if I start mining I will seriously look into that too. Some shady electric providers out there.

Thanks for the info.

Great post! :)

This post has received a 16.81% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @libertyranger. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

I see you got your 'two steems in'. Cute. I just posted something last week on the value of a penny and getting yiur 2 cents in. I think I am still in the old days. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79