How hot is too hot for mining on Alienware Desktop PC?

in #mining6 years ago (edited)

So you have entered the world of mining on your Gaming PC!

Yass

You're stoked right?!

BUT you're a bit worried and you don't want to kill your sweet sweet rig.

It's sexy and it cost you a fist full of Fiat.

Alienware: https://www.dell.com/en-us/gaming/alienware

**Tips: **

1: Check the specifics for your hardware, both GPU and CPU. Visit their official websites, know what you are working with.
2: Download and install recommended temperature monitoring software. Shop around. Also check the resources that each monitoring software uses. It doesn't have to look pretty!
3: If you have just started mining, don't dash out of the house, hang around for a few hours and keep an eye on your rig.
4: There is really no need to manage your fans manually, if you have your configurations right "auto" should take care of your rig.
5: DYOR - do not just take some YT videos word for it. Know your hardware and what it can handle both in the sort term and long term.
6: Don't be afraid to push your machine. PCs are not built to last a decade. Work it hard. Make the operation worth it!

Here is what I mine with my Alienware PC:

Disclaimer:
Crypto investment is risky and the markets can be highly volatile. Do your own due diligence before buying. No responsibility is accepted for investment decisions made on the basis of this article.

Turtlecoin website: https://turtlecoin.lol/
CoinMarketCap: https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/turtlecoin/
Discord: http://chat.turtlecoin.lol/
GitHub: https://github.com/turtlecoin
Twitter: www.twitter.com/RedditTrtl (Subreddit) - don't forget to follow on Reddit itself, r/TRTL
Medium: https://medium.com/@turtlecoin

Peace

Sort:  

A question. Do you consider mining with a 4th generation i7 laptop that does not have a graphics card .. Is it a big risk for the laptop? considering that I would place a mining software on a medium term and at night, without using the equipment in any other task ... I appreciate your response.

Hi @Tamaxadi I have mined with a 2nd gen i5 with only CPU and got between 18 - 35 H/s - I left the laptop on 24/7 mining and it did not raise a sweat. It was not stressed and/or hot at all. You sure can mine with a Laptop. Is it economical in the short term? No. However if you believe in the coin/token and see future exponential growth in value than go for it! I reckon you could get up to 150-200 H/s from your laptop. I am getting 1500 H/s from my desktop so you can see a laptop (of any kind, unless really new and designed for gaming , ie has a graphics card) cannot compare to a desktop. I say go for it! Turtlecoin is perfect for such a machine! Be sure to give the air vent/s a clean and check the fan is working fine before hand. Good luck! :)

Below is a grab from xmr-stak... as I learn more about my machine I expect to get up to 2000 H/s

Also a laptop consumes less power, so that is a positive in a way. :)

I will mine again then. I was with computta. With a previous machine, an i5 4th generation. Now switch to an i7 also of 4th. Thanks for your teaching. I will do it only at night, because I use it for work during the day. Greetings.

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

BUT your a bit worried and you don't want to kill your sweet sweet rig.
It should be you're a instead of your a.

So true! I always do that lol. Are you a bot?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69