Utilizing your mining rig to heat the house in winter

in #mining6 years ago

-+~beep boop beep~+-

I’ve been mining around the clock lately with my multi 1070 gpu mining rig and I noticed it runs hot. That being said, where I have it located is in an office right outside my thermostat. Problem. Now the rest of the house thinks it’s as hot as it is by the Rig!

I resolved the issue by putting a simple air circulating fan that sits pointing at the rig, and upwards. They sell em at Home Depot and they angle up instead of pointing directly at the rig. I have it aiming at about a 45+ angle at the rig upwards. This air circulation (and additional cooling of the cards) cause my house to heat more evenly again. For the time being, since the rig has to live in the office, now I am blowing the hot air it generates throughout the house. Pretty nifty.

Wanted to share and also ask Steem, do you guys run any gpu mining on wireless? If so, do you see a performance hit? I could just relocate the rig if wireless is a stable alternative?

Thank you!
Cabbage

Sort:  

Congratulations @twentyonecabbage! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @twentyonecabbage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76