You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MinnowBooster Update: Automated Upvote Buying is Officially a Breach of MB Terms of Service

in #minnowbooster6 years ago

Word up... I really appreciate your continued efforts to make your service work within an "ethical" framework.

I will have to say, due to the limited availability lately it has become quite hard to actually "hit" an available vote. Sending quickly repeated requests of the same kind to "catch" a vote eventually has been pretty much the only option lately.

I understand the likes of mine (probably triggering 10-20 requests [manually] within a minute) are probably not the problem you are referring to, but it does underline the problem, it's almost impossible to get a decent upvote purchased without acting 'bot-ish'.

Sort:  

I didn't use it a lot in last few months, because the available upvotes were only few cents. I am even giving my upvotes to the service and exchanging them for upvoting my comments, just because I can not use decent upvotes on my articles. I hope there will be a fix soon

A little update on the story... This morning I came to discover:

Status: Blacklisted

apparently it indeed is enough to act bot-ish manually, I didn't quite expect that.

Anyhow, I was pretty sure this was a false automatic detection so I headed over to the MB Discord to ask for instructions on how I could appeal the blacklisting and what to avoid in the future.

I was kicked off the Discord Server without any comment

I understand the tension is high and there are probably tons of appeals similar to mine right now stressing the mods to the limit, but really, that was just unprofessional...

To clarify... I am ~80SBD into my monthly limit and yesterday I did send the same 10SBD request probably 30 times over to get that one upvote on one post. I do that manually and I do not think my posts are being disqualified due to "quality" concerns.

I'd appreciate your comment on the situation.

Hang in there buddy. MB is going to announce sweeping changes to the vote market and take a big leap forward in the next few days!

ummm... ok?!

so does that mean my blacklist status has been revoked? Is there any way for me to join the discord again after being kicked out for no reason?

Same happened to me :( And I do not use bots.
Also I do not consider my posts as a spam although they are sort of short - mostly graphics made by me (i'm not so fluent in english - its hard for me to create longer posts)
Well... blacklisted or not I will carry on. C'ya!

Your wallet looks very suspicious!

Then check out my blog, it's really nice, friendly, open and you're welcome :)

Same happened to me

Do you mean the getting blacklisted or the kicked off discord without any comment part?!

I totally understand that a blacklisting can happen, but I am a bit shocked to get thrown out the door for asking about it, without any correspondence at all.

A was blacklisted while sending bids
I usually send quickly many requests from 0.04 to 1 SBD
You know: send / backspace /change SBD value / send again/ repeat
It may look like bot's work :)
I hope blacklisting will be temporary or revised.
If not ... oh well, tough luck :)

P.S.
LOL, I didn't expected sending 10SBD or even more is legit and brings effects :)

ah ok... well i guess that's not really a poblem then... as I said, blacklisting can happen for many reasons.

I really appreciate their effort to weed out spam and abuse, so a zealous blacklist is great imho. It's when you get thrown out for just trying to appeal, without being given any comment... that's where I think things start going wrong.

10 SBD works... there are a few big vote sellers on minnowbooster, they are hard to catch, and so yes, it takes repeated attempts similar to what you're doing at the right time to get these.

So I guess I did that too much?! I usually buy a vote every second day or so... it's really not that much compared to what i see others doing on much less original posts (well I guess that's subjective.... but anyways...)

Feel free to join the discord room again and inquire about MB service and your account again if you'd like..

yeah... well, the invite links in the MB posts all seem to have expired? Do you have one for me that works?

Well, I do not know if 10 SBD is too much. Actually "The Steemmarket" will adapt and adjust itself. I often see people bids much higher. I thought you just have no chance to "win" upvote this high. I thought only minnows with small voting power sells their votes to minnowbooster. But thinking this over.... Whales can sell their votes too. It makes sense. Lol I'm constantly learning :).

From my point of view:
Minnowbooster is ok (although it blacklisted me <no hard feelings, they can do what they want >) In my case MB helped me to gain reputation and gain some voting power.
I truly believe that making good content is the best way to succeed on Steemit.com, but with no reputation and no followers you can stick your GREAT CONTENT up "Y.A."

That is why MB is a great tool to make a change

You can cite me.

No, you can't.
I 've just copyrighted this slogan.
And I'm shipping t-shirts worldwide.

Everybody grab your hands and sing along!:

krkrkr... lol

yeah... let's heal the world alright :D

Getting kicked out is pretty unprofessional. I've been a big fan of minnowbooster and now I'm just disappointed. If you don't mind waiting to get white-listed try smartsteem

I'm not sure you have much to say about this @vimukthi as your clearly an abuser in addition to fraenk... I'm sure getting kicked out of discord was a mistake but considering you guys have both abused the system I don't think you have much to say at this point that will make you look credible or make people feel sorry for you...

Here's a sample of the suspicious behavior i found in your wallet just a minute ago for other folks to see...

They are all manual transfers. I don't even have enough knowledge to code a bot. I re-send my transfers because they keep coming back with the same message. It didn't used to be like this.

I used to just check the graph and send a bid. But I haven't seen a value above 0.5 SBD in weeks. Getting an upvote is pretty much like a gamble. I have to try many times to get an upvote.

Even though the message say to look at the chart most of the time only about 0.1 votes are available. I do not stare at the charts all the time. So I may have missed some.

I assure you that all transfers were 100% manual.

sorry... did you just say I am "clearly an abuser" or did I read that wrongly?!

fair play. get rid of those who abuse the system. I'm new to steemit and have been watching this argument closely....
Keep it up so content stands out by itself...

nice way plugging your ref-link ;)

You can try Smartsteem white list only bot as long as you have decent content although you'd have to wait until your posts are manually reviewed for higher value votes.
(The link is a referral)

and now it looks like ref-link-spam!

Sorry if it annoyed you. I was kind of pissed by the out of nowhere ban even though all transfers were manual. Though of letting people know about the competition. I used to think of 2 services as pretty much equals. The inaccurate bot detection Vs White-list only made Smartsteem look much better now.

Yeah, I feel you... but I think it's generally not a nice practice to deploy referral links without clearly marking them as such.

It did seem like an obvious thing as I habitually read the link before clicking it. Edited it to make it dummy proof.

Actually I did use @smartsteem already twice or so.
I didn't know that they judge my posts before upvoting O_0. Respect2them!
I thought no one cares. They upvoted, so they liked apparently. :)

same thing happened to me, i wanted to get a big upvote so i followed minnowbooster's voting power, and when the power came to 57% i knew its going to start voting, so i kept sending one after another, because i missed it before, and this day was the last to take vote on that particular post. i did it manually in the website, i get it that i shouldn't have done that, but as you said its really hard to get a big upvote,
and i got blacklisted,
then i was kicked off the discord server....

now, lets see if i can get on smartsteems whitelist........
minnowbooster was the best though

The same thing just happened to me. It was near impossible to get a vote and I had to try over and over. Suddenly I get a message saying: We currently refuse to make business with you! We'll stop refunding in 9 attempts

That's when I came in and saw this post. I'm one of the 67 accounts with 3 stars on smartsteem white list. I buy all my votes manually and even that's near impossible getting a decent upvote is like winning a lottery. Then I got banned.

well... but the point here really is... a zealous blacklist is fine... but dropping customers without comment isn't. I'm fine with ending up on a blacklist... and i'd try to talk to them before making a racket on some public post...

but i got kicked off their discord without comment... THAT's the issue here!

They do need some good communication. I simply came across this post after seeing a memo that read: We currently refuse to make business with you! We'll stop refunding in 9 attempts

I probably overacted as it seemed like I was being accused of making a bot when I don't even know how to code one. I don't know how the algorithm works. They didn't even included a warning or even a reason in the memo they sent. I was just confused and then a little pissed.

Communication is key. No warnings or even parameters (like only X transfers within Y hours) were given. I was trying hard to get an upvote and the next thing I know is the above mentioned memo.

Yeah... i guess tensions are high right now. Their new auto-detection is arguably very sensitive and MANY users have been blacklisted.

Now this certainly helps to weed out the hundreds (thousands) of abusing farm accounts and that's certainly a good thing for the community in the end.

I was already able to clear my name and have access to their service and their discord again, but it took quite some initiative as the mods are fighting with hundreds of appeals right now.

I support their intentions. It's just the execution. Their algorithm clearly wasn't well coded. I'm no programmer but I don't think there would have been this many false detection if it was well written. Maybe they simply checked transfer frequency and flagged the accounts.

The worst thing was communication. The 40 SBD limits were well set and well communicated. This current mess clearly wasn't.

I also got the same message just now - We currently refuse to make business with you! I havent been abusing there service - anyone had any luck trying get off the so called 'blacklist?'

Contact them on discord. Give them your account link and explain what happened.
https://discordapp.com/invite/2zC7sf?utm_source=Discord%20Widget&utm_medium=Connect

How does all this work I'm so confused I want to invest but Everytime I try to it won't transfer my funds

minnow what is the price of your mom pussy for one night ?
i wanna buy
tell
me
fast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66