You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnowbooster : The Only Promotion Bot Running its Own Infrastructure!

in #minnowbooster5 years ago

I definitely think it would be great if there were a managed node solution where projects which need node use but can't justify a full node could lease some portion of one. I'm not sure I'm very much the market for that right now, unless it came in very small chunks, but yaneverknow.

Sort:  

What would you define as "small chunks" @tcpolymath?

I don't know, I'm not even sure how to count my API reads. On public nodes right now I run two autovote streamers, one bot that reads two dozen or so recent account histories every 50 minutes, one bot that does 7-21 reads every half hour and occasionally votes, and one bot that makes maybe a hundred custom jsons per day. So very much a minor hobbyist level.

I don't really have a sense of how expensive streaming is, though, since I've always gotten it for free. What does it actually cost on a node level to run a single basic autovote streamer like this one? I haven't the slightest idea.

I try to be a good citizen and limit my reads, but I'm sure I'd be better at that if I were paying for them.

I could imagine node-as-a-service providers offering a free tier with limited capacity (like AWS) or low cost plan for low volume usage.

Likewise some services (anything requiring the follower and/or tags plugins) cost a lot more than others and would have to be priced higher.

All of this can get worked out if we have a sensible and sustainable market.

Agreed, still waiting to hear from anyone willing to pay for such a service, no takers so far. Maybe a community blacklist showing bots and apps revenues and whether they use own rpc servers or not will start getting action.

The one that does 100 custom jsons per day is very hobbyist as you say and the Steemit nodes won't even feel it. Regarding the streamer bot, I'm not sure of bandwidth/resource use so I am mentioning @gtg and @drakos in this comment for insight. If anyone else has an effective way of testing the load an app uses I would be interested to know, we are currently looking at bandwidth use monitoring solutions, but don't have anything concrete yet.

I'm running all of these from home and it has no noticeable effect on my residential bandwidth, so I'm sure from a node perspective it's collectively almost nothing. But what tiny amount of resources I'm using is something I'd be very interested to know, if only to satisfy my own curiosity.

I think it comes down to more the server cpu load and tps more than how many GB per month it uses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89