Rookie Mistakes on Steemit

in #minnowhelper6 years ago (edited)

image
Steemit is an amazing platform for creativity and making connections with like minded people. It seems simple on the surface, but the truth is, for a new Steemian, it can be rather complicated. I've made more than my fair share of rookie mistakes, so thought I'd use them to help my fellow Minnows to avoid the pitfalls.

It's Not Facebook
We've all been there, starting our journey on Steemit thinking it's just like Facebook. We upvote as though it's a 'like' button, comment on posts with a simple 'nice post dude' or resteem anything that makes us laugh.

Every one of these Facebook habits we've developed over the years, are going to cause problems for the new Steemian, unless we retrain ourselves to interact in a new way. Here are a few lessons I've learned (the hard way), during my first couple of weeks on this amazing site.

15151980926924303976502498889273.jpg

An Upvote Is Not A Like
On Facebook, we show our appreciation for a post, by hitting the like button. All well and good when you can do this as many times as you wish. Steemit is different, however, because each time you upvote (particularly important for Minnows), you will deplete your voting power. To understand this, I highly recommend reading @davemccoy post by following the link below. https://steemit.com/quicktip/@davemccoy/quick-tip-voting-power-and-how-to-check-it
1515199637168.jpg

Worry not, there is a cure for like withdrawal. First of all, write a well thought out comment, demonstrating that you read and enjoyed the post, this also has the added advantage of earning you curation rewards. Secondly, add @originalworks to your comment. This will enable the post to be shared through this group, giving it a much wider audience. And thirdly resteem the post by removing https:// from the address and insert 're' in it's place (this uses @resteemable which reaches far more users than if you were to just 'resteem to your followers).

Save your upvotes for posts that really impress you, and also for comments on your own posts that are meaningful and go into detail, rather than a simple 'nice post'

This is my first post covering Rookie Mistakes, which can be summed up as Forget everything you've learned on Facebook. I'll do a follow up shortly, covering the Basics about Bandwidth. I hope you've found this helpful and if you've anything to add to the topic of upvoting, then please share in the comments below.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @looksfarwoman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Can you elaborate a bit on "resteeming with @resteemable"? I'm afraid I don't understand. I understand the use of @OriginalWorks, is this similar?

Of course. When you are reading a post, if you go to the top (open it in chrome), and you'll see the link address at the very top. If you remove the http:// portion of the address and replace it with the letters re, then the post will be resteemed (shared) with a wide audience. If you click on @resteemable here, it will take you to the profile page, where the instructions are at the top, and you can see how it works. I hope that answers your question, but if not, let me know and I'll see if I can clarify further.

Roger that, just checked it out. Understand fully. Thanks for the tip

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I am still steemit newbie and I truly appreciate these valuable tips.
LOL, I experienced "like withdrawal's" and found it somewhat frustrating, but naturally compensated the loss by leaving more comments. I look forward to not running out of steem as quickly in the near future.

It really helps, also, as you earn Steem by commenting, it's good practice. I'll be posting about bandwidth later, so I hope you'll enjoy it. In the meantime, if you have any questions, feel free to ask. Although, I'm a newbie too so I can't guarantee to know the answer. 😉

I wish the vote slider was available below 500sp on Steemit. Even though there is no real monetary value it always feels better to be able to give an upvote.
In case someone doesn’t know, many 3rd party apps, like eSteem, allows for this.

Good point, thank you. I find there are features on esteem that are not on here and visa versa, so I use both, depending on what I need at the time.

Thanks for posting this! I needed a good reminder. I upvote everything just like I like everything on facebook.

I hear you there. Ive been there and done that to the extreme 😉. It's a hard habit to break, but once you get used to it, it's a much more rewarding way of doing things. I also find that I'm getting to know people much better, through having a conversation, instead of a quick comment.

Also quite helpful. Kinda proud of myself that I’d already figured most of this stuff out on my own, with only 4 days under my belt. • Ahem — overachiever much?! • Still grateful for your generous sharing as you learn. ⭐️

Hahaha. Well done you. Bit of an under achiever myself. You should post anything you've picked up, you never know, who might need it....me probably. 😂

Not sure I believe that under-achiever bit. Drafting posts such as this takes a fair amount of thought and attentive effort — you’ve already done similar twice. 👏🏼

Awwww. Thank you. I really enjoyed doing it (blushes). You guys are amazing.

Wow. I never knew there's a Voting Power. Ill resteem this post. Thanks alot for this! You've earned a follower.

Thank you @embity. I also did a follow up on bandwidth, which I hope you'll find useful. Were fast becoming a lovely community here. Everyone's happy to help out, so if you have any questions, then please feel free to ask.

I quite like your angle of breaking the like button habit. I'm trigger-happy for the little heart on Twitter, and have been "retraining" myself, as you said, for the changed game that Steemit encourages us to play. You've earned yourself another follower! I look forward to reading more of your posts (and as a newbie, I'm sure I'll keep learning from them, so thanks for writing)!

Oh hello again, I just replied to your comment on the other bandwidth post, and, of course, immediately followed you. It's great to meet you, I'm sure we're going to have lots of fun. There seems to be a few of us congregating together, who are like minded newbies. I don't know if you've encountered @davemccoy yet, but he's a really great guy and fantastic at passing on what he's learned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80