Minnow to Minnow

in #minnowsupport6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7897.jpg

I'm home from my weekend in the Eastcoast and am back upside down in Toronto with Willow and Phil safe and sound.

Traveling gave me lots of time to read and dive into more Steem world and learn new things such as understanding why/how people use bots. I have never used bots and don't feel a need to BUT when I was only a day or two on the platform and didn't know anyone or anything I remember seeing those trending posts and thinking OH MY GOSH how do people do that and realizing it was bots and thinking... "uhhhh is that how this works?" Relax Minnow pals- you don't have to spend money on bots to get traction or connections on Steem.

Here is what I have kept forefront of my mind in my first couple months of Steeming that I hope inspire you in the creations you want to put forward on the platform.

COMMUNITY

  • I came onto Steemit with no expectations but committed to putting myself out there- early on I was gifted a ticket to Steem Creators Conference in Toronto by @shadowspub who had won the ticket from a contest hosted by @anomadsoul and @coruscate. What I learnt at that conference, only a few weeks into my journey on Steem, was that THIS PLACE is about the community, not the money. The price of Crypto may fluctuate but meaningful relationships are consistent and valued here. This week is my first time really earning anything (which is all going toward my short film Barbara-Anne https://steemit.com/film/@lifesacircus/8bm1r6l8)And ultimately the rewards gave me a HUGE confidence boost and motivation to keep on Steemin' n Dreamin' and creating the content I'm passionate about.

AUTHENTICITY

  • I believe in life that if you truly show up, if you follows what lights your soul on fire and are present in your life you will receive. The same applies here on Steem. It's not about doing what you think is "right" it's about doing YOU! Who are you, what excites you and makes you jump for joy, cry your heart out or laugh till your belly aches. Share that, show that, believe in that and you will thrive on Steem (and it'll be more fun) Connect, comment, share and interact with lots of people and be yourself. You don't have to be fake about it. Actually read the article, watch the video and make an genuine comment if you feel compelled to do so.

YOU GET OUT WHAT YOU PUT IN

  • This is a big community spread out around the world and just because you post something you think is great doesn't mean it will get eyes on it. Whether you want to curate more or post more you have to make the effort on the platform to get to know your fellow creators. What I'm learning, for some people bots are the quickest way to get exposure but I think there is a more authentic way to do it and paying bots take away from the genuine community building that is happening here.

TALENT ALWAYS RISES TO THE TOP

  • Being in the Entertainment industry this is something I hold near and dear that keeps me sane. I cannot control a lot of things when it comes to casting but I truly believe the hacks get bored or exposed and real talent will sustain. This can take YEARS but that's okay and really none of my business- I'm busy running my own race. The same is true on here- the trending and big up voted posts will gain attention but if the majority of their audience are bots who really cares? Does it really have value?

IMG_7896.jpg

Doing these things has made Steem a wonderful experience and I am feeling SO MUCH LOVE from all the incredible Steemians! No bots necessary. It hasn't even been a full two months here and I feel so at home, inspired and supported. This week I launched a @fundition for my first short film I'm trying to make and this week I made over $10 dollars for the first time and then over $45 (almost at $50!) for the first time WHICH MADE ME PEE MY PANTS (okay maybe not actually pee, but maybe...) I was minnow of the month thanks to a new initiative by @coruscate (make sure you apply minnows!!!) and I did an interview with @clixmoney and met the @dcooperation community. I have had help from folks like @welcomewagon, @themesopotamians, had my first delegation from @blocktrades and lots of support from my Steemy friends like the @steembirds and @anomadsoul who I met at the Steem Creators Conference in Toronto ran by the dynamic duo @larrymorrison and @steemcafe! Go check all of them out. They are pro, fun and full of tips and advice. Believe me- they will help you if you ask, participate and reach out. There are more who aren't mentioned here but I'm sure you get the point... It becomes a snowball of connections and interactions!

So, WELCOME new Minnow pals there's a little slice of where my head is at! Lots of information will come flying at you but don't stress, you'll figure it out and find friends and don't need to be "trending" to have a good time ;)

xo
K

Sort:  

So much you say here echoes my own sense of what Steemit is about @lifesacircus... I was just writing about "patience" earlier, and perhaps the key in it all is that authenticity demands patience.

Following now... and partly swayed by the fact that you're a cat person!

=^..^=

Whether it's Steemit, or the music industry, or life... so-called "flashes in the pan" and "shortcuts to fame" may offer moments of brilliance, but so often the outcome is that you end up with a so-called "one-hit wonder."

These people who use bots all the time... strip away the bots, and they have nothing. Which tells us that what they do is not capable of standing alone, on its own merits.

I hear you and agree! The quick fix of an immediate success is only temporary but long lasting relationships, success and careers are built on a strong foundation, patience and persistence. Just like life on Steem! So nice to connect with you xo

Posted using Partiko iOS

what a great post @lifesacircus and if anyone has any doubts about your energy level... it is absolutely as presented here... maybe actually a bit subdued compared to encountering you in person lol

And never ever let the cat understand what you're doing... she will take advantage of that in her quest to control her human.

Hahha!! I may have let willow eat lobster off my plate today... I’ve lost control ...SOS

Posted using Partiko iOS

two thumbs up ....great post LAC!

thanks friend!!!

This really touched me, all that you said here is so true and that's how it really should be, here the people who focus only on getting money usually don't get it as much as the people who care more about meeting new people and enjoying making connections and new friends, so it's like the more you enjoy this the more money you get hahahah thank you very much for this post, I think this was so necessary and still is, more people should say it because there are many that hasn't realized this and are just trying too hard without getting anything! Or they just don't dare because they're "just minnows". Thanks again for this, and I hope you can make your short film soon! :)

Wow thank you sooo much for this response ❤️ it meant so much, glad you enjoyed it xox

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good work. I'm glad to see you getting so much out of this crazy show.

Craaayyy all day dayyyyy bayyybayyy

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for including me in this post, I'm glad you like it here. ☺

This is your cat? he is lovely!!!

Yes thats my willow kitty girl!!!

LOVE this. Love every word of it. You are such an inspiration to not only the Minnows out there - but to every content creator on this platform.

I’m so glad that we met and have become friends! ♥️

So am I!!! So very grateful for the open heart and lots of support you offer not just to me but to everyone on the platform xo

I’m like the cat trying to figure it out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh she never understands what her mom is doing haha

Hi @lifesacircus, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @mesopotamians doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @mesopotamian ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73