You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Gaining a Friend is More Valuable than Money

in #minnowsupportproject7 years ago

You describe an absolute great experience! Fortunately I have multiple of these type of engagements and discovery of super nice people who like to be helpful and not out on rewards, votes and follows. Those stick to me in the sense, I'll not forget them. Those I also give votes and sometimes even my full power! To be honest, I make quite a lot of conversations on channels that does not reward at all, like Steemit.Chat in p2p mode, or Discord also on p2p mode. And with those I have phonenumbers from, WhatsApp and other p2p messaging apps. The funny thing is, these people come back to my posts and reward them, not always, and they maybe away for some time. Yesterday had a ling conversation with someone I had very meaningful but also fun conversations with on Steemit.Chat and because of our re-contact at Steemit.Chat, and the fun we had again, suddenly I had 5 upvotes on my posts with a good reward. I was not even expecting it, not even thinking about it. But this kind of things happen, and more frequently than you think.

Sort:  

I have years and years of background on IRC (and still do), so it's natural for me to mingle and interact with people in a live manner, on chats like Discord and Steemit.Chat. It's much easier to make friends there because it's faster to interact, than to wait minutes or hours for comments and replies on Steem. Although sometimes I find them a bit too cloggy, IRC is simpler because it's plaintext, no fussy avatars and whatnot. Perhaps it's one of the reasons I never was interested in any of the current social media like FB. IRC is the grand daddy of any chats in existence, it's old school and still alive.

Although I have accounts at other social media, I never ever posted anything. Only when discovering Steemit, I started to share information. For some reason I like it, but like you, I like the simple chat channels more, since those allows much more interaction than this blogging think. The good thing of blogging channels is that posts and comments are more structured and will be easier to search back when needed than chat channels, anything in the history of a chat, generally is lost for later use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68789.22
ETH 3862.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66